Rutland County Council chooses Roger Begy as its leader

Have your say

RUTLAND County Council members last night voted for Roger Begy as the council leader.

Coun Begy, who has been leader since 2003, received 16 votes at the annual meeting of Rutland County Council while Coun Gale Waller (Lib Dem) received eight votes.

Coun Terry King is deputy leader and the other four members of the cabinet are Coun Ken Bool, Coun Christine Emmett, Coun Gene Plews and Coun Martyn Pocock. Their specific duties on the cabinet will be decided at the next meeting.

Coun Edward Baines was elected to serve a third year as chairman of the council, while Coun Chris Parsons is vice-chairman.