Draw made for Burghley Park Cricket Week sixes competition

Burghley Sixes tournament at Burghley Park CC'Photo: SM040712-010pc ENGEMN00120120507093847

Burghley Sixes tournament at Burghley Park CC'Photo: SM040712-010pc ENGEMN00120120507093847

0
Have your say

The draw has been made for sixes competition at the annual Burghley Park Cricket Club Cricket Week and Beer Festival running from July 7 to July 11.

Games take place each day during the week from 10am, with a Burghley Park XI taking on visiting sides such as Lincolnshire Gents and Leicestershire Gents, with the addition this year of the Authors CC, a cricket team of writers, which originally played in the early twentieth century, before being revived in 2012.

From 6pm each evening you can see the shortest format of the game as 16 local sides battle it out in the six-a-side competition.

The draw for the sixes competition was completed live on Rob Persani’s Rutland Radio show on Saturday morning.

Six-a-side fixtures:

Monday, July 7 – Castor vs Ufford, Yaxley vs Empingham and Laxton Park vs Nassington

Tuesday, July 8 – Old Oakhamians vs Burghley Park, Uffington vs Newborough and Uppingham Town vs Stamford RUFC

Wednesday, July 9 – Oakham Town vs Barnack, Ketton vs Stamford and the first quarter-final

Thursday, July 10 – Quarter-finals

Friday, July 11 – Semi-finals and Final

In the evening there will be a fully stocked beer tent, sponsored by Cabel UK, with more than 15 different barrels of beer on offer every night and a barbecue.

Another addition this year is a tandoori BBQ.

Cricket week will be sponsored by Hindmarch Peugeot,

The schedule for the day fixtures has also been confirmed:

Monday 7th July – Burghley Park vs Ex Tempore

Tuesday 8th July – Burghley Park vs Authors CC

Wednesday 9th July – Burghley Park vs Lincolnshire Gents

Thursday 10th July – Burghley Park vs West Norfolk

Friday 11th July – Burghley Park vs Leicestershire Gents