East beats West in club battle over the tracks

Oakham Bowling Club Presidents Day.'Photo: MSMP-20-08-13-Oakham BC Presidents 2
Oakham Bowling Club Presidents Day.'Photo: MSMP-20-08-13-Oakham BC Presidents 2
Have your say

Oakham Bowling Club 
president Rod Groombridge celebrated his President’s Day by hosting the annual East versus West match at the club.

Teams of players from each side of the railway line played six keenly contested rinks with the result going to the wire.

Chris Wallis’ East team won 107-104 to claim their third straight win in the four years of the competition.

The winning skipper 
received the President’s Shield with a wooden spoon awarded to Barrie Payne, 
captain of the West Team.

Gwyn Davies won the 
“Spider”, for being nearest to the jack.

A total of 48 players took part with a meal afterwards in the clubhouse. A raffle raised £340 to be split between the Rutland Health and Leisure Group and the Wood Green Animal Shelter.

l Oakham have regained the OK Trophy, overcoming a three shot deficit in a pulsating finale against Keyworth.

The Rutland club won the final meeting of the four match series 112-100 for an overall nine shot victory.

The closeness of the final result shows the competitiveness between the two teams who have competed for the trophy for 11 years with Keyworth leading 6-5.

In this final match of the series, Oakham won on four of the six rinks. The winning skips were Alan Jones, Ivan Lang, Denis Smith and Chris Wallis.

Scores (Oakham only): Ray Gregory, Robin Sims, Peter Gleeson and Alan Jones won 23-9; Chris Smith, Peter Ferry, Eddie Owen and Ivan Lang won 21-13; Lyn Walters, Brian Garner, Barrie Payne and Denis Smith won 21-15; Gwyn Davies, Jack Pearce, John Rogers and Chris Wallis won 23-18; Ray Wilkins, Terry Thurman, Bob Swarbrick and Bob Hammond lost 13-20; Richard Ward, Mary Smith, Rod Stanley and Gail Robertson lost 11-25.

l Oakham’s Saturday team squeezed past Leicester Banks by one shot, winning a thrilling match that went right to the wire, 93-92. Winning skips were Ivan Lang, Chris Wallis and Jeff Turnbull.

Scores: Bob Spence, Tony Flower, Bob Swarbrick and Ivan Lang won 25-15; Lyn Walters, Mike Hardy, Rod Stanley and Chris Wallis won 18-16; Robin Bickers, Peter Ferry, Eddie Owen and Jeff Turnbull won 18-17; Gail Robertson, Rod Groombridge, Barrie Payne and Gwyn Davies lost 15-19; Ray Gregory, John Moore, Norman Coville and Denis Smith lost 17-25.