Every week a new winner emerges

Greetham Valley GC - Sam Ewing with Captians elect Trevor Smith and Sheila Douty'Photo: MSMP 111212 Golf
Greetham Valley GC - Sam Ewing with Captians elect Trevor Smith and Sheila Douty'Photo: MSMP 111212 Golf

There was yet another first-time winner when Greetham Valley held the eighth round of its Winter Order of Merit at the weekend.

Former club captain Neil Creese won with a fantastic round of 42 points.

Although the rain had stopped by the time the first pair went out, the course was wet underfoot and Neil, off seven, said that the conditions really suited his game.

Neil carded three birdies on the back nine, which helped him to victory against Ian Copley, 0ff 12, who came home with 42 but was beaten on the back nine. Carl Causbrook was third with 36 points.

The competition remains wide open and Ian is the only player to have featured in the top three twice this year.

David Copley still leads overall with 126 points, while his brother Ian has moved up from 16th to second on 102.

Graham Smith and last year’s winner Adam Clegg also moved into the top five. Graham has 94 points and Adam 92.

George Brand didn’t have such a good week and was pushed from second down to fifth, just a couple of points behind Adam.

l Ryan Tarrant’s captaincy of Greetham Valley’s junior team has come to its end after an exceptionally successful year.

In April he led Greetham Valley to a stunning victory against Burghley in the annual Clark Chapman Trophy at Greetham - a remarkable triumph as he was forced to play against the Burghley pairing of Joe Carr and Dean Vaughan on his own.

Ryan also led his team to the South Lincolnshire County final at Boston where, despite not winning, juniors’ organiser Pat Jones said: “They did the club proud.”

Ryan, who is aiming for a single figure handicap next year, hands over to 12-handicapper Sam Ewing in January.

l The Seniors have elected their officials for the next year with Rod Wells becoming captain and Radley Wardhaugh vice-captain.

Before the meeting the seniors held a three club competition for the Hodgkinson Trophy.

Peter Wood won with a score of 38.