Home   Lifestyle   Article

Awards for Oakham allotment holders

Oakham allotments presentation EMN-160909-093850001
Oakham allotments presentation EMN-160909-093850001

The hard work put in by allotment holders in Oakham was recognised during a presentation evening.

The annual event was hosted on Friday, September 2, by the Oakham Allotment and Home Garden Society.

The society chairman, Martin Duncan got the evening underway by announcing that the standard of gardening and husbandry had improved immeasurably over the last few months, a statement that was echoed by the judges, who were society president Jeff Smith and horticultural society judge Pat Simmons.

Oakham town mayor also generously gave up his time to support the two judges and to attend the presentation evening.

The awards were handed out to:

Burley Road: Winner - Megan McCafferty; Runner Up - Michelle Taylor; Steward Award - Diane Fenn and Dee Lockner. Elm Close: Winner - Brian Lethbridge; Runner Up - Jim Finlay; Steward Award - Bob Dryland. Pillings Road: Winner - Dave Stewardson; Runner Up - Bob Kendrick; Steward Award - Billy Parsons and Bob Kendrick. Willow Crescent: Winner - Adrian Marshall; Runner Up - Nick Whiley; Steward Award - Louis Mullen. Town Council Award presented by Oakham mayor Adam Lowe - Mr Cornforth. Overall Winner - Dave Stewardson. Overall Runner Up - Brian Lethbridge.

All winners received shields to mark their success and a certificate was given to the Stewards Award winners.

The presentation itself was followed by a lovely buffet produced by the team at the RAOB Club in South Street, and then the raffle winners drawn.

There was also an entertaining and well-received talk by horticulturists Kevin Barker, formerly of Ashwell Garden Centre. The society thanked the Mermaid Fish Bar, and Harpers Hair Salon for their support in providing raffle prizes.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More