Home   News   Article

Burghley Horse Trials: All the winners

Of the 15 entrants who took part in the Burghley Horse Trials for the first time, just seven completed the tough competition.

Lincolnshire's Emily Prangell and DHI Beauness were eliminated on the cross-country course at the Leaf Pit after lying 35th following the dressage.

Ciaran Glynn and November Night were the best first timers, placing 14th.

“That was a very good first Burghley," said Ciaran.

"I knew the showjumping would be tough because November Night has a huge stride, but the feel she has given me all week is really encouraging. She is phenomenally scopey."

This year's event welcomed The Gurkha Welfare Trust as its official charity.

Out on the cross-country course, fence 10 was a carved wooden kukri, the national weapon of Nepal, while this year’s winner, Tim Price, was also presented with a ceremonial kukri by General

Nick Pope CBE, chairman of the trust and deputy chief of the general staff in the British Army.

The fill list of winners from the event are as follows:

- Land Rover Perpetual Challenge Trophy, awarded to the winning owner. A miniature replica will also be awarded to the owner and the rider of the winning horse: Varenna Allen and Tim Price;

- Burghley Challenge Cup, awarded to the winning rider: Tim Price;

- Ceremonial kukri, awarded by The Ghurka Welfare Trust to the winning rider: Tim Price;

- Henry Tate Challenge Cup, awarded to the owner of the second horse: Val Ryan, Angela Hislop and Karyn Shuter;

- Sugden Challenge Trophy, awarded to the rider of the second horse: Oliver Townend;

- Stamford Challenge Cup, awarded to the owner of the third horse: Paul and Diana Ridgeon;

- Silver photo frame, awarded by Dawson of Stamford to the rider of the third horse: Andrew Nicholson;

- Miniature of the Land Rover Perpetual Challenge Trophy, awarded to the highest placed first-timer: Ciaran Glynn who finished 14th on November Night;

- Plaques, awarded to all owners whose horses complete the competition, and to any athlete completing who is not the owner of the horse;

- Bronze, presented by SHB (GB), awarded to the owner of the highest placed horse sired by an SHB (GB) graded stallion or HIS premium stallion to finish in the top 12: Angela Hislop for Cooley SRS;

- Scholarship for two embryos, awarded by Twemlows Stud farm to the owner of the highest placed British domiciled mare to finish in the top 20: Trevor Dickens for Vanir Kamira;

- Best Shod Horse Award, sponsored by the Worshipful Company of Farriers: Tom Crisp’s Coolys Luxury; and

- Pedens Bloodstock International Pairs Challenge: Tim Price and Georgie Spence.

Tattersalls, the Newmarket-based bloodstock auctioneers, this year sponsored the Horse Care Award that is presented to the groom of the horse considered to have been the best looked after during the four days of the event.

The groom receiving the award from John Morrey, Tattersalls director, was Janet Willis who looks after Chance Remark, the ride of Willa Newton.

“He is an easy horse to look after,” said Janet.

“He does everything you want, he eats and drinks and is very relaxed about it all – a lovely gentle giant.”

Barbara Cooper, a long-time friend of Burghley and the publisher of definitive books about both Burghley and Badminton, plus the Pony Club Manual, has commissioned a special trophy to be presented to the best overall performance by a young British rider at the event.

The magnificent silver sculpture is of Barbara's heroine, Queen Elizabeth l, during whose reign Burghley House was built for the politician William Cecil.

The trophy will be presented at the British Equestrian Writers’ Association lunch in December.

Candidates for 2018 might include Tom Rowland or Katie Preston.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More