Changes to community policing in Rutland

Insp Lou Cordiner. EMN-150402-114527001
Insp Lou Cordiner. EMN-150402-114527001
Have your say

Neighbourhood police teams in Rutland will be more visible on the streets when changes to the way Leicestershire Police delivers its service come into effect next week.

From Monday, Rutland will have two dedicated neighbourhood sergeants and four dedicated neighbourhood officers to reflect a role that is solely focused on working with communities.

Officers working in this new role, along with the eight police community support officers in Rutland, will be patrolling the streets, dealing with issues relating to public protection, community engagement and anti-social behaviour.

They will no longer routinely carry out duties such as crime investigation, planned arrests and attending incidents - these will now be dealt with by other specialist units.

An investment in mobile technology will also allow officers to be more flexible, accessible and visible, without the need to be located in traditional police stations.

This shift is part of the force’s on-going transformation to meet the change in public need and demand. A reduction in budget also means that the force needs to make significant savings.

The force will no longer be split into 15 local policing units, but instead will now join to form eight neighbourhood policing areas.

The commander of Rutland’s local policing unit, Inspector Lou Cordiner has been appointed the new commander for the Eastern Counties.

Inspector Lou Cordiner said: “I am delighted to be appointed as the new commander for the Eastern Counties. I look forward to continuing to work in Rutland, and alongside my team, building on the strong relationship that already exist within the community and local partners.”

The neighbourhood officers and community support officers who will be based in the area are: PC Joe Lloyd and PCSOs Nicole Welsh, Samantha Hobbs and Alexandra Nash for Oakham town and Barleythorpe; PC Laurie Appleton and PCSOs Eleanor Allam and Steven Houghton for Rutland North; PC Paul Le Pla and PCSO Diana Freeman for Rutland south and PC Peter Icke and PCSOs Jason Manton and John Wylie for Uppingham.