Councillor’s votes in debate on Sainsbury’s store revealed

Have your say

RUTLAND County Council has unveiled details of which way councillors voted when considering the Sainsbury’s application.

The county council refused the supermarket giant permission to build a 30,000 sq ft store and petrol station on the corner of Lands’ End Way and Burley Park Way in Oakham at a meeting on Monday last week. The move would have created 300 jobs.

The vote was 10 against the application and eight for it.

Councillors voting in favour of the application being refused were Roger Begy (Con), Kenneth Boole (Con), Edward Baines (Con), Trevor Ellis (Con), Peter Golden (Lib Dem), Charlotte Jones (Con), Hugh Rees (Con), Janine Rodger (Con) and Barrie Roper (Con).

Those who voted against it being refused were Jeff Dale (Ind), Vijay Dighe (Con), Richard Gale (Ind), Brian Montgomery (Ind), Marc Oxley (Lib Dem), Gene Plews (Con), Mark Wells (Con) and Heather Wells (Con).

John Duckham (Con), Peter Ind (Ind), Trevor Lovell (Ind), Deborah Stuart (Con) and Nick Wainwright (Con) were absent. Peter Jones (Con) declared an interest and Terry King (Con) abstained.

The council is one short because Coun Susie Iannantuoni has resigned. The seat is being left vacant until the elections.

Councillors refused the application because they said it was too far away from the town centre and felt there were better locations to build a store. The land has also been earmarked for office and warehouse units but people voiced their disappointment it was refused.

Sainsbury’s says it is still considering its options following the refusal but in a statement last week said it “remained committed to Oakham”.

Rival retailer Waitrose wants to build a 15,000 sq ft supermarket on the Rutland County College site in Barleythorpe Road, Oakham.