Cyclists race in 10th Rutland-Melton CiCLE Classic

The lead cyclists going through Langham. Photo by Stan Stubbs. EMN-140428-110746001
The lead cyclists going through Langham. Photo by Stan Stubbs. EMN-140428-110746001
Have your say

Hundreds of people turned out to cheer on cyclists who competed in the 10th Rutland-Melton CiCLE Classic yesterday (Sunday).

The event, which runs from Oakham to Melton via Rutland Water and villages throughout the area, was won by British rider Tom Moses, who sprinted to victory at the end of the 115-mile race.

The event has grown in popularity since it was first held in 2005, attracting visitors from far and wide to the county.

This year’s race featured more than 173 cyclists from across the globe, as well as a 58-mile junior race which was won by 17-year-old British cyclist James Shaw.

Race director Colin Clews said: “It was a very worthy 10th edition of the race.

“The local community did us proud and it was all held in a very good spirit.

“The junior race went down very well and it was a great day for the sport.

“It looked like we had more spectators than ever come out to support the cyclists.”

The main race started in Oakham town centre, sending cyclist on two laps of Rutland Water before going through Langham, Cold Overton, Owston, Burrough on the Hill, Somerby and Pickwell. The cyclists then rode up to Melton to cross the finish line in the town centre.

Rutland County Council leader Coun Roger Begy was on hand to start the race, waving the riders off with his red tie as the start flag was misplaced before the event.

He said: “They didn’t have a flag so I took my tie off and used that. It was just a bit of quick thinking, not bad for a Sunday morning.

“It was a great event and the quality of the riders was superb. It’s becoming quite a well respected race within the sport.

“I’ve been to all ten and the atmosphere is lovely.

“It brings lots of people into Oakham and the county, and it really is a great day.”

Did you take any pictures of this year’s Rutland-Melton CiCLE Classic? Send them to and they could be featured in this week’s paper.

CiCLE Classic 2014 - Race results

1. Tom Moses GBR (Rapha Condor JLT)

2. Thomas Scully NZL (Madison Genesis)

3. Mark McNally GBR (An Post-Chain Reaction)

Junior CiCLE Classic

1. James Shaw (Haribo Beacon Cycling Team)

2. Oliver Maxwell (Windmill Wheels Cycling Club)

3. Joey Walker (RST Racing Team)