Council leader Roger Begy trims cabinet to five as part of portfolios reshuffle

Have your say

Rutland County Council leader Coun Roger Begy (Con) has announced changes to personnel and responsibilities as he reshuffles the cabinet.

The cabinet is a small group of Rutland county councillors that meet publicly every fortnight tasked with taking most of the day-to-day decisions that members are faced with.

Each cabinet member has a specific area of responsibility and works closely with officers from relevant departments to deliver council priorities.

Coun Begy has announced cabinet is reducing from six members to five, as Coun Gene Plews (Con) steps down from his role.

He has agreed to continue to act as champion for youth and sport where he has made a significant contribution.

Coun Begy has thanked Coun Plews for his hard work in recent years.

The remaining cabinet portfolio holders are; Coun Roger Begy himself; Coun Terry King (Con); Coun Martyn Pocock (Con); Coun Kenneth Bool (Con); and Coun Christine Emmett (Con).