Police and crime commissioners election results

Have your say

The Police and Crime Commissioners for the area have been revealed.

Independent Alan Hardwick took the role for Lincolnshire while Sir Clive Loader, representing the Conservatives, won the Leicestershire and Rutland election.

Conservative candidate Adam Simmonds is the commissioner for the Northamtonshire force and the Conservatives also took the Cambridgeshire role with Sir Graham Bright winning the election.

The commissioners will take on the role from Thursday, replacing police authorities. They will have responsibility for ensuring their force prioritises what matters to the public.

Votes were counted on Friday.

There was concern nationally about the low turnout for the elections.

Meanwhile, Adam Sawford, the Labour candidate, won the parliamentary seat in the Corby and East Northamptonshire by-election, which was also counted today.

The candidates for each area were:

Lincolnshire - first round of voting

David Bowles (Campaign to Stop Politicians Running Policing)

Richard Davies (Con)

Paul Gleeson (Lab)

Alan Hardwick (Ind) ELECTED

Turnout: 15.63 per cent

South Kesteven district turnout: 16.14 per cent

Leicestershire and Rutland

Sir Clive Loader (Con) ELECTED

Suleman Nagdi (Ind)

Sarah Russell (Lab)

Overall turnout: 16 per cent

Rutland turnout: 19.68 per cent


Jim MacArthur (UKIP)

John Norrie (Ind)

Adam Simmonds (Con) ELECTED

Paul Varnsverry (Lib Dem)

Turnout: 19.82 per cent


Ansar Ali (Ind)

Sir Graham Bright (Con) ELECTED

Paul Bullen (UKIP)

Stephen Goldspink (English Democrats)

Farooq Mohammed (Ind)

Rupert Moss-Eccardt (Lib Dem)

Ed Murphy (Lab)

Turnout: 15.25 per cent