Time to cast your vote in Lincolnshire and Northamptonshire county council elections

Share this article
Have your say

Candidates are getting their last few days of campaigning in ahead of Thursday’s county council elections.

Voters in Lincolnshire and Northamptonshire will go to the polls to choose their new councillors for the next four years.

In Lincolnshire, seats are up for grabs in the wards of Bourne Abbey, Bourne Castle, Colsterworth Rural, Deeping St James, Folkingham Rural, Market and West Deeping, Stamford North, Stamford Rural and Stamford West.

And in Northamptonshire the Fineshade, King’s Forest, Prebendal and Oundle wards have been combined into a single Oundle ward following a review by the Local Government Boundary Commission.

Lincolnshire County Council is currently controlled by the Tories with 61 Conservatives, six Independents, five Labour, four Lib Dems, and 1 vacancy.

Northamptonshire County Council is also controlled by the Conservatives, who have 54 members compared to Labour’s six, 10 Lib Dems, two Independents and one Ukip.

Each ward has several polling stations, which are run by the district councils.

Lincolnshire residents can find their local polling station by visiting the South Kesteven District Council website.

In Northamptonshire some polling stations have changed as a result of the boundary review.

Most voters will go to the same location they have always used. However in King’s Cliffe, the village hall will be a polling station as opposed to the community centre.

And in Oundle, voters who previously went to the Methodist Church Hall will now go to the Talbot Hotel.

You can visit the East Northamptonshire District Council website for a full list of locations.

County council elections are held every four years.