Voters in Barnack and Glinton and Wittering wards to choose Peterborough City Council members on Thursday

Have your say

VOTERS will head to the polls on Thursday to make their choices in the Peterborough City Council elections.

Three candidates will contest the Barnack ward on the city council, while two will fight for the Glinton and Wittering seat.

Barnack’s current member David Over (Con) won the seat in 2008 with 816 votes out of a total 1,009 cast. This year he stands against student Alex Hall (Lab), who was a founding secretary of the Peterborough Sixth Form Union, and Alex Jamieson (UKIP) who hopes to become the party’s first ever representative on the city council.

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm at Bainton Reading Room, Barnack Road, Bainton; Barnack Village Hall, School Road, Barnack; Helpston Village Hall, West Street, Helpston; Ufford Village Hall, Main Street, Ufford and The Spinney, First Drift, Wothorpe.

In Helpston, cabinet member for education, skills and university John Holditch (Con) will go head to head with Peterborough Sixth Form Union president and Stanground College pupil Luke Pagliaro (Lab).

Coun Holditch won his seat in 2008 with 1,378 votes, while his rivals managed just 312, 117 and 101.

Voters can make their choice between 7am and 10pm at Ailsworth Methodist Chapel, Helpston Road, Ailsworth; Castor Village Hall, Peterborough Road, Castor; Glinton Village Hall, High Street, Glinton; Marholm Village Hall, Castor Road, Marholm; St Michael and All Angels Church, Nene Way, Sutton; St Andrew’s Church, Russell Hill, Thornhaugh and Wansford Community Hall, Peterborough Road, Wansford.

Meanwhile, six parish council elections will be uncontested this year.

Couns Graham Fletcher and Richard Harris will remain on Bainton and Ashton parish council, while Nicola Clough is a new addition. This will leave two seats vacant.

In Barnack, Coun Eddie Barker, Coun Harry Brassey, Coun David Roxburgh and Coun June Woollard will continue to serve the parish. Ivor Crowson, David Laycock and Margaret Palmer will join the council.

Helpston Parish Coun Alastair Bradley, Coun Joe Dobson, Coun Karen Lakey, Coun Rosemary Morton and Coun Joyce Stanton will continue in their roles. They will be joined by Alex Driver, leaving three seats vacant.

Southorpe will be represented by David Edwards, Edward Elwood, Sue Joy, Nicholas Lodge and Adrian Robinson while Ufford Parish Council will comprise Marian Browne, Frieda Gosling and Keith Lievesley, leaving two seats vacant.

Finally, Wothorpe will be represented by Paul Armitage, Alan Gray, Douglas Henderson and John Lawrence, leaving one vacant seat.