Home   News   Article

Record number nominated for community sports awards

RCC sports awards 2014''Photo: Nico Morgan
RCC sports awards 2014''Photo: Nico Morgan

A record number of local sportsmen and women from across the county have been nominated for this year’s Active Rutland Community Sports Awards.

Now in their fourth year, the awards celebrate outstanding achievement among local clubs, teams and sports people, as well as coaches and volunteers who work hard behind the scenes.

Organisers of the 2015 awards received more than 130 nominations across 14 different categories, up from 93 the previous year. A panel of seven independent judges has now produced a shortlist of 75 names, with the winners due to be announced at a special ceremony at Greetham Valley Hotel on Wednesday.

Portfolio holder for development at Rutland County Council Terry King (Con) said: “Active Rutland’s Community Sports Awards are a great way to recognise the people who contribute to the success of grassroots sport in our county.

“We know Rutland is the most physically active place in England but we’ve been overwhelmed by the number of nominations received from local people. The shortlist for this year’s awards is incredibly strong and everyone who has been nominated should feel extremely proud.”

The overall sponsor for this year’s event is Tarmac. Rick Green, Maintenance Business Director at the company, said: “Supporting the communities in which we operate is hugely important to Tarmac. We’re delighted to be continuing our sponsorship of the Rutland Community Sports Awards 2015 and look forward to a special evening celebrating the accomplishments of clubs, organisations and individuals from across the County.”

The Active Rutland Community Sports Awards are supported by Rutland County Council and Leicestershire & Rutland Sport. For more information about the awards, please visit: www.activerutland.org.uk/communitysportsawards.

The nominations for the 2015 Active Rutland Community Sports Awards are as follows:

Club of the Year: Ketton Panthers Triathlon Club; Nordic Walk It; Oakham Artistic Gymnastic Academy; Oakham Rugby Football Club; Royce Rangers Girls Football; Rutland Rockets Netball Club; Rutland Sailing Club; Vale Judo Club.

Coach of the Year: Caroline Hattee - Ketton Panthers Triathlon Club; Craig Naylor - Eshelby Leisure Limited; Daniel Potter - Oakham Tennis Club; Duane Rawlings - Royce Rangers Girls Football; Jeanette Wilkinson - Catmose Sports Centre; Justin Hattee - Ketton Panthers Triathlon Club; Phillipa Andrews - Oakham Rugby Football Club; Samantha Griffin - Rutland Rockets Netball Club; Stephen Boylan - Rock Blok, Adventure Challenge Extreme (ACE); Victoria Lawniczak - Oakham Artistic Gymnastic Academy.

Sportsman of the Year: Daniel Bennett - Vale Judo Club, England Cadet U18 Squad; Dave Crooks - Nordic Walk It; Guy Clarke-Riordan - Bodybuilding; Jamie Dumford - Uppingham Town Cricket Club.

Sportswoman of the Year: Rebecca Watt - Ketton Panthers Triathlon Club, Triathlon; Zoe Smith - Rutland Running and Triathlon Club, Triathlon.

Young Sportsman of the Year: Daniel Cousens - Oakham Rugby Football Club, Leicester Tigers Developing Player Programme; James Reseigh - Vale Judo Club, England Pre-Cadet U15 Squad; Toby Williams - Junior U17 Techno Sailing, Youth Olympic RSX Sailing, Uppingham Rifle Club; Tom Proffitt - Rutland Sailing Club.

Young Sportswoman of the Year: Ellie Haughton - Greetham Valley Golf Club; Issy Simmonds - Rutland Rockets Netball Club; Jemima Leedham - Rutland Sailing Club, RYA 29er UK Youth Squad; Lottie Lemon - Rutland Rockets Netball Club, Rutland Athletic Club, Leicestershire County Performance Academy, Loughborough Lightening Academy Squad; Neve Hattee - Ketton Panthers Triathlon Club.

Junior Sportsman of the Year: Jamie Tylecote - Sailing, Athletics, Triathlon, Cross Country, Football; Marcus Speed - Rutland Polo Club, HPA National Development Scheme; Tobias Mote - Professional Kickboxing Association, Rutland Youth Dance Academy, Catmose Sports Centre Swimming; Tom Hattee - Ketton Panthers Triathlon Club.

Junior Sportswoman of the Year: Annie Dudin - Rutland Athletic Club; Bryony Cutforth - Vale Judo Club; Carys Attwell - Rutland Sailing Club, Stamford Hockey School, Netball, Rounders, Cross Country, Tennis, Swimming; Florence Lissaman - Rutland Rouleur Cycling Club, Cottesmore Pony Club, Triathlon, Cross Country; Jess Flint - Rutland Sailing Club; Libby Rawlings - Royce Rangers Girls Football, Rutland Rockets Netball Club, Loughborough Lightening Academy Squad, Melton Mowbray Swimming Club; Mary Tomblin - Vale Judo Club.

Active for Life: Barry Palmer - Rutland Exercise Referral Scheme; David Lloyd - Rutland Exercise Referral Scheme; Rachael Wade - Body Balance; Ronald Dewar - Catmose Sports Centre Member; Simon Murton - Rutland Running and Triathlon Club.

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year: Christopher Southwell - Rutland Conquerors, Great Britain Special Olympics Basketball Team; Steve Baker - Rutland Sailability.

Community Award: Catmose College Media Team; Ketton Healthy Walking Group; Ketton Panthers Triathlon Club; Ladies Who Launch - Rutland Sailing Club ; Nordic Walk It; Oakham Artistic Gymnastic Academy; Royce Rangers Girls Football.

Lifetime Achievement; David Wilkins - Rutland Sailing Club; Deanna Dennis - Ketton Healthy Walking Group, Keep Fit, Tae Kwon-Do; Elaine Lawniczak - Oakham Artistic Gymnastic Academy.

Volunteer of the Year: Bev Goodman - Rutland County Netball League; Caroline Hattee - Ketton Panthers Triathlon Club; Craig Shuttleworth - Oakham United Football Club; Eden Cousens - Oakham Artistic Gymnastic Academy; Justin Hattee - Ketton Panthers Triathlon Club; Katy Young - Oakham Artistic Gymnastic Academy; Kay Rainsby - Rutland County Netball League; Molly Boylan - Rock Blok; Nigel Peter Pleasants - Oakham United Football Club; Peter Ashworth - Rutland Sailing Club; Phillipa Andrews - Oakham Rugby Football Club; Steve Tranmer - Vale Judo Club; Tony Naylor - Bowmen of Rutland; Tracey Taylor - Rutland Mixed Hockey Club.

Sports Project of the Year: Exercise Referral Scheme; Ketton Healthy Walking Group; Oakham Artistic Gymnastic Academy; Rutland ParkRun; Rutland Water Fly Fishers; Step to It; Supporter 2 Reporter.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More