Home   News   Article

SKDC ELECTIONS: Independents triumph in the Deepings and Bourne

Independent candidates romped home in the Deepings, with Ashley Baxter enjoying a landslide.

The outspoken independent topped the poll in Market and West Deeping with 1126 votes.

He was followed by Conservative Bob Broughton on 774 and Independent Virginia Moran on 766, who were also elected.

Independent Wayne Lester came next on 588 votes, followed by Liberal Democrat Adam Brookes on 493.

Paul Fellows, Anna Kelly and Philip Knowles (9575352)
Paul Fellows, Anna Kelly and Philip Knowles (9575352)

Conservative Nick Neilson, the cabinet member for housing, only received 448 votes and lost his seat.

Bottom place went to Conservative Josh Yarham on 375 votes.

Independent Virginia Moran said: "It was a landslide for Ashley. It was due to considerable canvassing and dedication to the people of the Deepings."

She continued: "I am surprised at the support I received. I didn't expect to win."

Virginia Moran and Ashley Baxter (9574365)
Virginia Moran and Ashley Baxter (9574365)

Ashley Baxter said: "I really appreciate the help that I have received from Independent colleagues in the Deepings. I am humbled by the number of votes that I have received."

In the nearby Deeping St James, former Labour group leader on SKDC, Phil Dilks topped the poll with 1,291 votes.

Runner up to the now Independent Phil Dilks were Conservatives Judy Stevens on 945 and Jill Thomas on 714, taking the other two seats.

Next came Hilary Hoskin for Labour on 461, with Conservative Andy Halfhide coming bottom on 349.

Phil Dilks said afterwards: "It was a great result. I am pleased to be at the top of the poll again. I thank the good people of Deeping St James. I was standing as an Independent for the first time. I did not know how people would accept that."

Phil Dilks (9574214)
Phil Dilks (9574214)

In Bourne, Independents won all three wards.

Phil Knowles topped the Bourne east Poll with 558 votes, followed by Judith Smith (Conservative), who was also elected.

Conservative Julia Reid came next on 369, with Labour's James Marsden coming bottom on 193.

In Bourne West Anna Kelly topped the poll for the Independents on 740, followed by Helen Crawford on 638, who was also elected.

Conservative Penny Johnson came third on 393, with Labour's Steve Gabbutt coming fourth.

In Bourne Austerby, Paul Fellows came top on 678, followed by Conservatives Robert reid on 507 and Jane Kingman on 500, who were also elected.

Next came the Green's Simon Whitmore on 390, Lib-Dem Ian Smith on 232 and Labour's Bob Mumby on 231.

Paul Fellows said: "We are absolutely delighted to have got the support from Bourne for the platform we stood on. We will be totally independent to serve Bourne as we have in the past. We ackknowledge that the Bourne residents have put their faith in us and we intend to fulfil our responsibilites.

More by this author

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More