Two new councillors for Rutland County Council

Rutland County Council offices in Oakham
Rutland County Council offices in Oakham
Have your say

Two new councillors have been selected for Rutland County Council following the by-elections in Whissendine and Oakham South West.

The by-elections took place on Thursday last week and the results were announced on Friday.

Richard Clifton who was standing as a Conservative candidate was elected to the Oakham South West ward, following the resignation of Joanna Figgis.

Benjamin Callaghan (Ind) received 177 votes, Richard Clifton (Con) polled 240 votes and Richard Swift (LibDem) received 43 votes.

The turnout for the ward was 24.82 per cent.

Samuel Asplin was elected to the Whissendine ward as a Liberal Democrat candidate.

The by-election came about as a result of the death of Brian Montgomery.

Samuel Asplin (LibDem) received 192 votes and Jonathan Baker (Con) received 179 votes.

The turnout for the ward was 34.67 per cent.

Both councillors will serve until the next full Rutland County Council elections, which are due to take place in May 2015.

Councillor Chris Parsons, Member for Ryhall and Casterton, has announced that he is leaving the Conservative Party and will represent his ward as an Independent councillor.

Coun Parsons announced his intention to the chief executive on Thursday last week.

Due to Coun Parsons change and the election of Coun Clifton and Coun Asplin, there are now 15 Conservative Party members at Rutland County Council, six Independent councillors, two Liberal Democrats and three members of the UK Independence Party.