Home   Sport   Article

Blackstones let lead slip in yet another loss

Mitch Brent
Mitch Brent

Blackstones manager Neil Cotton’s search for a first win continues as his side let a 1-0 half time lead slip within 10 minutes of the restart on Saturday.

Cotton puts the 2-1 loss away at Olney Town in the UCL Division One down to poor finishing but this game was governed by the very strong wind that tore down the length of the pitch on the village green at Olney.

It now means Blackstones have gone a staggering 18 games without a win, just registering three draws during that barren run.

In the first half Stones had the strong wind at their backs and it was the visitors who took a tenth minute lead through Kieran Hart who headed home a Sean Treagus cross at the back post. This was after a sustained period of attack by Blackstones with Treagus exploiting the slow home defence but the off-side rule or the wind frustrated Stones’ efforts.

After the goal the Stamford outfit had further chances to extend their lead in before the break but went in one goal up.

Olney, now with the wind at their backs equalised in the second minute of the second half from a free-kick which, drifting the ball in on the wind, which was nodded unopposed into the net through Ben Cole. Now with their tails up Olney pressed, once more conceding a silly free kick eight minutes later in the same area as the last. The ball was again drifted in on the wind, this time the keeper came to punch but the Olney attacker Danny Webb nipped across him to head home the second.

Stones created more chances against the wind but failed to convert, so continue the search for their first win under the Cotton regime.

Stones travel to face Bugbrooke St Michael on Saturday, kick-off 3pm, before travelling to Bourne Town FC on Easter Monday, then on Wednesday, April 15, in the last home game of the season, Bourne Town play the reverse fixture at Lincoln Road, kick-off 7.45 pm.

Blackstones: Liam Parmley, Louie Medwynter, Nathan Fryar, Steven Slack (Glenn Longden), Sean Rodgers, Graham Morris, Sean Treagus, Pete Smith, Martin Holyoak, Kieran Hart, Ben Moore,

Substitutes: Owen Uglow, Chris McRoyal.

Olney: Joe Pursell, Ben Snusher, Gary Thurston, James Pacifici, Grant Burrows (John Mills), Ben Cole (Will Wright), Danny Webb, Christian Smail, Aaron Murrell, Jamie Burrows, Dean Torto.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More