Home   Sport   Article

Impressive win for Wittering over title contenders

Wittering have recorded their first win of the season in the Stamford and District Bowls League with an impressive 7-3 win over Blackstones D, one of the main contenders for this year’s Division One title.

Their victory was due mainly to John Hare’s rink win over that of Jonathan Earl.

Elsewhere in the first division current title holders Blackstones C’s maximum points win away to Ryhall A sees them go the to the top and a weakened Langtoft Pearl recorded a surprise away win against Empingham A.

The top of Division Two sees Oakham Owls perched above Greetham Valley Eagles who took a maximum 10-point win over Colsterworth.

Another maximum points win, away at Ryhall, saw Carlby Corgies heading Division Three above Stamford Town D.

What is thought to be the highest ever shot difference rink score of 41-4 was achieved by Langtoft Pearl’s Angela Cox, Peter Cox and Richard Montgomery in their first round win against Market Overton in this year’s Oddfellows Rosebowl Competition.

The quarter finals draw for this seasons Boor & Wainwright Trophy is Blackstones D v Langtoft A, Blackstones C v Oakham D, Greetham Valley Eagles v Ketton Kestrels and Blackstones B v Oakham A.

The most interesting encounter due to the handicapping system will be that where Blackstones C will be giving Oakham D 30 shots start.

Langtoft Pearl who were surprise winners against Empingham A. (2522288)
Langtoft Pearl who were surprise winners against Empingham A. (2522288)

Results and Rink Scores

Division One: BLACKSTONES C 66 (10 points) RYHALL A 39 (0 points) Blackstones names first: Jenny Harris, Derek Needham, Adam Warrington 18 Nyron Graham, Jan Want, Derek King 13; Jane Needham, Mick Owens, Martyn Dolby 23 Moira Dolby, Len Laybourn, Charlie Jones 12; Trevor Harris, Trevor Christie, Paul Buckley 25 George Graham, David Ingram, Malcolm Rylance 14.

KETTON KINGFISHERS 61 (9 points) MARKET DEEPING REGALS 49 (1 point) Ketton names first: Phil Hoare, Paul Pheasant, Gary Oliver 22 Alex Denniston, Richard Smith, Dave Roberts 12; Alan Pearce, Stafford Wallace, Bob Warters 20 Tim Porter, Malcolm Matthews, Chris Bines 20. Tony Dolby, John Little. Dick Ford 19 Sue Biggin, Tony Coe, Mick Biggin 17.

STAMFORD TOWN C 64 (7 points) BLACKSTONES B 63 (3 points) Stamford names first: Brian Sumner, Helen Holroyd, John Holroyd 23 Gary Shell, Rod Briers, Paul Bailey 16; Moira Holroyd, Val Allam, Ross Travis Jenner 16 Ken Rawlins, Mark Hebden, Dave Hudson 22; John Turnham, Martin Hewitt, Richard Allam 25 Chick Veasey, Phil Morris, Trevor Smith 25.

OAKHAM A 58 (8 points) BOURNE WOODS 41 (2 points) Oakham names first: Bob Spence, Matt Murrant, Ray Gregory 16 Joan Thompson, Paul Finch, Betty Wright 17 ; Janet Rogers, John Rogers, Barry Payne 22 Mel Thompson, Alan Farmer, Ann Northen 13; Ros Carter, Jennie Bateman, Paul Murrant 20 Val Thompson, Peter Burt, Steve Buffrey 11.

WITTERING 53 (7 points) BLACKSTONES D 50 (3 points) Wittering names first: Dave Pusch, Dave Burton, John Hare 26 Mal Smith, Dusty Miller, Jon Earl 11; Ally McNaughton, Mitch Willoughby, Glenn Willoughby 9 Peter Bagshaw, Peter Linnell, Sam Downs 21; Bunny Warren, Mick Smith, Bob Warren 18 Darren Russell, Darren Middleton, Trevor Smith 18.

Division Two: MARKET OVERTON HARRIERS 71 (8 points) GREETHAM VALLEY ROBINS 54 (2 points) Harriers names first: Michelle Rawlings, Eddie Owen, Mal Croson 29 Alan Bennett, Malcolm Metcalf, Bruce Strickland 12; Cath Mitchell, Mick Boddington, John Mitchell 21 Bryony Batch, Barbara Watson, Rita Knapp 28; Gary Marsh, Jeannie Hutton, Mike Parkes 21 Neil Crees, David Stoter, Roger Clarke 14.

GREETHAM A 45 (2 points) KETTON KESTRELS 57 (8 points) Greetham names first: Glynis Sellars, Dick Brett, John Hall 21 Graham Scothern, Steve Brown, Charlie Underwood 15; Violet Luckhurst, Davis Isaacs, George Ruff 11 Martin Wallace, Elizabeth Wallace, Ron Tilley 25; Don McGarrigle, Mick Sharp, Chris Tarrant 13 David Tilley, Shirley Suffling, Ken White 17.

GREETHAM VALLEY EAGLES 65 (10 points) COLSTERWORTH 41 (0 points) Greetham names first: John Downing, Tony Ansell, Peter Cozens 25 Colin Crump, Dave Hotchin, Chris Fleckney 12; Trevor Hubbert, Brian Jackson, John Cox 19 Vic Wright, Keith Fraser Mick Needham 12; Helen Cox, Brian Gooch, Frank Hinch 21 Margaret Hotchin, Rita Knapp, Barrie Grosse 17.

BARNACK SAXONS 61 (4 points) OAKHAM OWLS 61 (6 points) Barnack names first: Jane Innes, Paul Andrew, Martyn Dennis 13 Mark Smith, Maureen Douglass, Bob Hammond 21; Trevor Goodwin, Christine Goodwin, John Innes 19 Rod Stanley, Janet Horwood, Alan Jones 20; Sarah Parker, Gill Andrew, Martyn Parker 29 Lindsay Walters, Rich Tarleton, Denis Smith 20.

Division Three: CARLBY BEES 53 (2 points) MARKET OVERTON TORNADOS 55 ( 8 points) Carlby names first: John Burcham, Stuart Poole, Art Stacey 16 Colleen Lake, Les Cusdin, Richard Lambert 21; Lily Vaughan, George Barber, Colin Harrison 23 Gerry Barker, Dave Healey, Dave Laker 12; Margaret Richardson, Phil Sherwin, Dave Richardson 14 Mary Slater, Gorden Corby, Brian Snow 22.

STAMFORD TOWN C 65 (8 points) STAMFORD TOWN A 56 (2 points) C’s names first: Michael Winter, John Renshaw, Dennis Starbuck 25 June Taylor, Susan Seed, Len Marshall 21; Len Ward, Jenny Desborough, Keith Bell 25 David Hayre, David Flynn, Alan Balderson 15; Linda Starbuck, Ivy Ward, Mick Nash 15 Sue Starbuck, Carolyn Fraser, Ann Holmes 20.

RYHALL B 48 (0 points) CARLBY CORGIES 69 (10 points) Ryhall names first: Wendy Heaney, Malcolm Osbourne, Peter Almond 14 Simon Flatters, Nick Flatters, Alan Denne 27; Jean Dupree, David Harrison, Tony Austin 16 John Todd, Anne Maddison, Ian Cooke 21; Margaret King, Tony Chick, Colin Spence 18 Chris Lees, Sue Lane, Lucy Cooke 21.

The Optimists, skipped by Stamford Town Bowls club veteran Dennis Starbuck, pictured on left with the club's President Alec Burt, and team members Charlie Jones and John Burton after they won the Stamford Town Club's Gala Day held at the weekend. (2522285)
The Optimists, skipped by Stamford Town Bowls club veteran Dennis Starbuck, pictured on left with the club's President Alec Burt, and team members Charlie Jones and John Burton after they won the Stamford Town Club's Gala Day held at the weekend. (2522285)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More