Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Jacob Bush from Baston tastes national cycling success after being awarded the Chris Boardman Trophy

Baston cyclist Jacob Bush is celebrating a memorable first year of competitive racing.

The 15-year-old – who only took up the sport in October last year after deciding to move away from national and European level skiing – has claimed a flurry of national championship wins in his magnificent maiden campaign.

The Bourne Wheeler has also ended the year by taking the Chris Boardman Trophy which is awarded for the RTCC Overall Under 19 Champion of Champions.

Jacob Bush of Bourne Wheelers.
Jacob Bush of Bourne Wheelers.

Bush has been coached by British Cycling legend Dean Downing since switching his sporting allegiance and his average of 15 hours per week of training is paying off.

He made an immediate impact in his first race last October when he won the Lincolnshire 10-mile time-trial in a new juvenile county record time.

However, the start to this season was then stalled by the coronavirus pandemic which resulted in no competitive racing for the first five months of the year.

When racing restarted in June, Bush – who was competing as a first year in the Under 16 category – racked up an impressive collection of national wins.

He took top spot in the Closed Circuit Championships and was then triumphant in the 25-circuit event and national 25 competition.

His terrific run of form continued with victory in the national youth competition which was then backed up by success in the 10-mile championship.

Bush was also the quickest overall junior rider in the Under 19 category at the National 25 Circuit Championship where he collected his first national championship junior jersey.

In addition, he has two other podiums in the overall Under 19 junior categories at the National Closed Circuit and Youth championships.

His target for 2021 is to try and repeat his national title spree together with setting a new British Under 16 10-mile time trial record which he just missed out on this year.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More