Cricket: Smiths Smackers beat Rugby Club in the Hodgkinson Cup

Share this article
Have your say

The Hodgkinson Cup was won by Smiths Smackers after a competitive series of matches.

After a washed-out first night the rained-off games were realigned over the three first nights of what turned out to be a wonderful four days of entertaining six-a-side cricket on the Abbey Lawn in Bourne.

Eight teams started and after the group matches League A was won by an undefeated Smiths Smackers and though the Motley Crew won two of their three matches it was the Washday Blues who went through to the semi-final by virtue of their bonus points tally.

In League B the Happy Hookers (the Rugby Club 2nd team) were always struggling to win matches but provided great entertainment.

Baston Tarts’ match with the Old Brunnians on the Tuesday evening went to the wire – the Brunnians scored 54 for three off their five overs and looked to be in control when the Tarts had only score 13 off their first two overs.

However, Guy Cunning-ham and Liam Davies then upped the scoring rate but 14 were still needed off the last over from skipper Jono Stainsby which was then reduced to four off the last ball. Davies calmly put the ball over the boundary to win the closest match off the 

The Rugby Club’s first team flexed their muscles with three fairly comfortable wins to ease into the semi-finals alongside the Tarts.

The first semi-final saw the Baston Tarts bat first against Smiths and posted 54 for four.

Smiths’ reply was well-placed but they still needed 13 off the last over. With Josh and Robert Bentley going well , their boundary off the last ball so them move into the 

The other match was a bit more one sided with the Rugby Club scoring 63 helped by a dominant 24 off the last over with Berry (23) and Dixon (19) scoring well. In reply the Washday Blues competed well but finished 15 runs short with John Lord top scoring
 on 24.

So the two most impressive sides during the week reached the final and the Rugby Club asked Smiths to bat first.

Rob Bentley (28 retired) and Dean Smith (21) were the main scorers in a competitive 68 run total.

In reply Glen Smith, Berry and Dixon all fell quite cheaply for the Rugby Club but Aiden Smith with 21 and first John Burgin (12) and captain Adam Binns fought hard to get back in the game but with 21 needed from the last Josh Bentley over it was just too much to do and they fell six runs short.

The Hodgkinson Cup, sponsored by Adrian Smith and Stephen Knipe & Co, was presented to Dean 

* An incorrect version of this report appeared in the Bourne edition of the Mercury (July 12) when we got the wrong winner of the trophy. We apologise for the error and will put in a correction in next week’s paper.