Home   Sport   Article

Gabriel denied second successive victory after being pipped at the post in Rutland race

Colin Joyce edged a photo finish to claim victory in the 15th edition of the Rutland-Melton International CiCLE Classic on Sunday.

The 24-year-old American pipped last year’s winner Gabriel Cullaigh with Rory Townsend taking third place in the event which starts in Oakham and finishes in Melton Mowbray after racing through numerous Rutland villages.

Cullaigh’s Team Wiggins Le Col won the Team Award while Matthew Nowell from Saint Piran was the winner of the King of the Bergs.


Results (top 10): 1 Colin Joyce (UHC Cycling), 2 Gabriel Cullaigh (Team Wiggins Le Col), 3 Rory Townsend (Canyon DHB Bloor Homes), 4 Jake Scott (SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling), 5 Tom Pidcock (Team Wiggins Le Col), 6 Alex Luhrs (Ribble Pro Cycling), 7 Bas Van Der Kooij (Monkey Town – A Block), 8 Piotr Havik (BEAT Cycling Club), 9 Steve Lampier (Saint Piran), 10 Scott Thwaites (Vitus Pro Cycling).

Full report, reaction and pictures in this week’s Rutland Times and Mercury.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More