Bogey side Barwell dump Daniels out of the FA Trophy

Want your club featured in the paper and online? Call our sportsdesk on 01780 758962 or e-mail
Want your club featured in the paper and online? Call our sportsdesk on 01780 758962 or e-mail
Share this article
Have your say

It was a familiar story for Stamford AFC on Saturday who once again lost out to their bogey side Barwell, this time by 1-0 in the FA Trophy First Round Qualifying.

Barwell have a real hold over the Daniels of late, and their narrow at the weekend means they have won their last five matches without conceding a goal.

Visitors Barwell have already done a league double over Stamford this season and Callum Woodward’s 59th minute goal gave them a hat-trick of victories.

In a game of few chances Stamford goalkeeper Andy Stevens was beaten by Woodward after the Daniels failed to clear the ball in a goal mouth scramble allowing him to smash the ball high into the net.

Nathan Fox came closest to snatching a replay for Stamford when his chipped shot struck the bar and forced a Barwell defender to clear with his head off the line.

Jordan Smith created the first chance of the game when he turned and hit a half volley from the edge of the 18 yard box but Liam Castle in the Barwell goal was a match for the effort.

Barwell’s Anthony Carney was causing Stamford some problems and forced Dalton Bettles to clear and gave Stevens a shaky moment when he was forced to clear with his head after getting caught in no man’s land outside of his area.

After the break Stamford midfielder Dan Lawlor almost found the back of the net with a free kick with went just wide of the post and Jon Challinor had a decent shot from distance but a deflection took the ball away from goal.

Both sides looked for goals but the defences were on top and the visitor’s single goal was enough to win the tie and end Stamford’s involvement in the FA Cup for another year.

Stamford: Andrew Stevens, Ryan Clarke (Tom Mann), Nathan Fox, Gareth Jellyman, Lewis Carr, Dalton Bettles, Dan Lawlor, Jon Challinor, Nabil Sharriff, Jordan Smith (c), Ryan Robbins. Subs: Emeka Nwadike, Sam Thorpe, Richard Jones, David Staff.

Barwell: Liam Castle, Scott Lower, Connor Gudger, Danny Jenno, Jamie Hood, Kieron Brehon (Edward Nisevic), Anthony Carney (Brendan Murphy), Callum Woodward, Alex Tomkinson, Jon Stevenson (Sam Brooks), Nigel Julien. Subs: Nigel Hadland, Lewis Fenney.