Ketton make it a dozen games unbeaten

Action from Ketton FC v Deeping Rangers Reserves. Photo: Geoff Atton EMN-150812-142146001
Action from Ketton FC v Deeping Rangers Reserves. Photo: Geoff Atton EMN-150812-142146001
Have your say

It’s now 12 PDFL Premier League games unbeaten for Ketton who maintained their excellent run with an emphatic 6-0 win at Riverside on Saturday.

Ketton were always in control of the contest but it took 28 minutes for them to breakthrough – Alex Sismore squaring for Alex Brockbank to tap home. Matt Woodman made it 2-0 before the break latching onto a quickly taken Brockbank free kick.

Sismore got his name on the scoresheet after the break racing onto a Ben Waldron long ball before Jack Speechley made it four with a superb top corner finish. Two goals from Lewis Morley, the first on 77 minutes from a Luke Watson pass and the second just 3 minutes later from an Ian Marsh corner, completed the scoring.

Ketton manager, Rob Ward, said: “It was a solid, business like, performance but still a very good win. We came out flying and caused Riverside issues from the word go but had to wait for the opening goal. We spoke at half time about upping the pace and we played some much better football in the second half produced a mixture of different goals.

“It was good to see Luke Watson make his debut in the second half. He played well, getting an assist. It was a good start for him in a Ketton shirt.

Ward concluded: “It’s another good result and sets us up for a tough test away to Peterborough Sport this Friday night. We are full of confidence at the moment so I hope we carry that into our game on Friday and get ourselves another good result.”

Ketton: Dan Swan, Matt Woodman, Ben Waldron, Johnny Holmes, Matt Lawrence, Lewis Morley, Dom Jones (Luke Watson), Alex Collyer, Ian Marsh, Alex Sismore, Alex Brockbank (Jack Speechley). Substitute not used: Andy Gray.

Riverside: Jordan Brodie, Ayden Campbell-Brazier, Daniel Catton, Keith Clark, Geres Gil Matos, Ian King, Thomas Lancaster, Liam Noble, Nathan Senth, Sandro Silva, Matt Smith.

Substitutes: Jamie Payne, Robert Urquhart, James Woolner.