Daniels boss disappointed his side can’t see games out

Ryan Robbins struck for Stamford AFC in their defeat at Ashton United.
Ryan Robbins struck for Stamford AFC in their defeat at Ashton United.
Have your say

Stamford AFC chief David Staff inists his players must quickly learn how to perform for the full 90 minutes after they slipped into the Evo-Stik League North Premier Division relegation zone on Saturday (September 21).

The Daniels suffered a disappointing 2-1 defeat at an Ashton United side who played with 10 men for 75 minutes following an early dismissal.

Ryan Robbins handed them the perfect start when pouncing on a weak back-pass in the seventh minute and their task appeared to become easier when home player Cavell Coo was red-carded for a challenge on Liam Richardson.

But things didn’t go to plan as Stamford were pegged back 10 minutes after the break when debutant goalkeeper Andy Stevens was beaten by a strike from Ashley Young.

A calamitous own goal from Alvin Jarvis completed the unexpected turnaround midway through the second period before Stamford were also reduced to 10 men when Richardson received his marching orders following an off-the-ball incident.

Disappointed player-boss Staff said: “We are good enough to get into games but we are not currently proving good enough to see them out.

“We are not a bad side and we certainly don’t have bad players, but we are not managing situations well enough to get results.

“We were in front against 10 men and doing well up until half-time, but in the second half things went wrong for us.

“We didn’t look after the ball at all well and paid the price. The own goal certainly isn’t something Alvin will want to be reminded about.”

Stamford return to action when travelling to an in-form Matlock Town tomorrow night (Tuesday, 7.45pm).

Posh youngster Alex Lynch will return between the sticks after serving a suspension.

Coach Steve Farmer has left the club to take up a similar position at Tamworth.

Stamford AFC: Andrew Stevens, Luke Blakely, Nathan Haines (Ryan Walker), Liam Richardson, Richard Jones, Alvin Jarvis, Shawn Richards (sub David Staff), Ashley Robinson, Jordan Smith, Richard Wesley, Ryan Robbins. Unused subs: Daniel Lawlor, Ben Barton.