United celebrate first year

Oakham United 2012 award winners
Oakham United 2012 award winners
Have your say

OAKHAM United have held their first awards ceremony since the formation of the club through the merger of Oakham Imps and Rutland Rangers last year.

Chairman Barry Clarke was unable to attend but vice-chairman Alistair Forbes spoke on the night, praising the players and managers for their commitment over the season.

He said: “We have had a fantastic season. We have fielded three adult teams and one U18s team, all of which have proved to be competitive in their respective leagues.

“With the quality of players I have already seen play for the club, and knowing the quality of some of the players interested in joining in the future, I can’t wait to watch and support all four teams once again.”

He added: “All our managers, Andy Saddington, Pat Johnson, Karl Seagrave, Dave Grieve, Tony Maher and their assistants Tony Nelson, Martin Owers and Michael Nelson have done a great job.

“The work they have done at training to develop players, the work they have done on match days and the way they have integrated players has been outstanding and on behalf of the club I thank them.”

He also thanked all the club’s volunteers and sponsors for their support throughout this season.

First team joint managers Andy Saddington and Pat Johnson presented the senior trophies and Johnson said: “When you see the lads winning against teams with the resources of United Counties League clubs you know they are capable of playing at a higher level

“We are both looking forward to seeing them again next season.”

Manager of the U18s, Tony Maher added: “It has been great working with the younger members of the club and watching them develop throughout the season,

“Many of the players will still be available at under 18 level next year and I am confident we can build on the achievements of this season”.

Pre-season training starts in June with new players welcome.

Awards, sponsored by Edwards Engineering, were presented to: Eddie McDonald (1st team Players’ Player of the Year), Tom Bain (1st team Manager’s Player), Mike Reeson (2nd team Players’ Player), Nathan Bottomley (2nd team Manager’s Player), Charles Baird (3rd team Players’ Player), Liam Mullineaux (3rd team Manager’s Player), Will Bell (U18 players’ player), Cameron Brookes (U18 Manager’s Player of the Year ) and Oscar Bullimore (Most Improved Player).