Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Burghley Park Golf Club stage their presentation night

More news, no ads


Nearly 200 Burghley Park golfers attended a Mexican-themed presentation evening at the clubhouse on Friday.

Covid had put paid to this event last year, but almost all of the winners from both the 2020 and 2021 seasons were present to receive the congratulations of their fellow competitors.

Though the list of winners was inevitably quite long, the presentation ceremony, superbly organised by Carol Johnson and compèred by the chair of competitions, Stewart Ward, was very slick, and the glittering array of silverware on display was efficiently presented to the victors by last year’s captains, Stephanie Crook and Richard Vaughan.

The men’s trophy winners at Burghley Park Golf Club.
The men’s trophy winners at Burghley Park Golf Club.

As ever, there were quite a few multiple winners in the ladies’ section.

Jayne Carney, Helen Cox, Stephanie Crook and Janet Duff received two trophies, while Sandy Bushby, Kay Hircock, Liz James, Carol Johnson, Michelle Powell and Nicky Plumtree won three.

Top of the tree, however, were Sue Churchill, with five victories, and, even more impressively, Janet Farrington, who won six separate competitions, all of them in 2021.

Perhaps the loudest applause of the evening, however, was heard for the winners of no fewer than five Lincolnshire trophies won by Burghley’s Ladies last season, including the Lincolnshire Shield, won by Nicky Plumtree, Sandy Bushby and Michelle Powell.

The Ladies A and B teams also received warm congratulations for winning their county Handicap Leagues last summer.

A few of the strongest male golfers in the club were also required to leave their seats on more than one occasion to be presented with their spoils.

Burghley Park Golf presentation (55517687)
Burghley Park Golf presentation (55517687)

The names of Trevor Smith, Adi Ward, Anton Wells and Brian Eldred will each be added to two separate trophies, as well as the relevant noticeboards, in the near future.

Appropriately, however, it was Lewin Auciello, last season’s club champion, who topped the list with three victories overall.

After receiving his final trophy, which was also the last one to be presented on the night, Lewin thanked the organisers, the captains past and present and the catering staff for providing such a memorable evening.

Proceedings were then brought to a close by Paul Ramm, the current men’s captain, whose well-received words about his hopes for the season ahead ended the evening on a suitably positive note.

Two days later, the first competition of the 2022 season took place.

The Mulligan Trophy, named in memory of a former club secretary, is a mixed Stableford event designed to raise money for the new captains’ chosen charity.

Players are invited to purchase three ‘mulligans’, each one allowing them to replay an errant shot at any point during their round without penalty (though this does not apply on the greens). They were also invited to donate if their drive on the first tee did not end on the fairway.

As ever, Burghley’s golfers responded generously, and the money raised this year will go to the ‘MindSpace Stamford’ charity.

Though a surprising number of players found the conditions testing, Anthony Barnes, playing off a six handicap, posted a very impressive 39 points, but was trumped by two ladies.

Janet Roberts scored 40 points, but the first winner of 2022 was Helen Hayes, with an outstanding 41.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More