Bob’s long reign at the top is finished

Have your say

Greetham Valley

BOB Beverley has been knocked off top spot after leading Greetham Valley’s Winter Order of Merit for all the first week.

Week 13 proved unlucky for Bob, who had to relinquish the lead, slipping to second overall behind Adam Clegg who has been steadily climbing the standings with consistent scores for the past six weeks.

Delighted to top the chart, Adam knows that it will be tough to stay there after having his handicap cut to four. Next week could see another change in the top three as Adam is unable to play.

Adam has 220.5 points with Bob on 207 and event organiser Neil Harris third with 191. Graham Smith is less than seven points behind Neil in fourth with 184.7 points, Steff Dutton rounds off the top five with 170.8.

Although Adams 39 points were good enough to take him to lead the table, they were only good enough for second place on the day.

Fraser Denholm won the week with a sparkling 41 points and his first victory of the series. The win moves Fraser up from 15th to 11th position with 137 points. He was cut to 10.

Another player cut to 10 this week was Chris Wheatland who was third with 38 points. Paul Jenkinson in his first outing of the series took fourth with 37, finishing just ahead of Graham Smith and Elliott Clark on 36.

l THE leaders of all four Sunday Winter league divisions have the same results, with five wins, one defeat and a total of eight points.

The Sunday winter league is played in four divisions with the top pair in each going into a draw with the Saturday league winners to contest the quarter finals on March 4.

Mick Carnie and Jim Kearny lead division one, former club captains John Sparks and George Grant lead division two, Peter Dickinson and Paul Smith lead division three. Semi finalist in 2011 Scotty Stevenson and new playing partner Thomas Broom are the leaders in division four.

Stoke Rochford

STOKE Rochford’s Seniors Winter Warmer this week was a pairs better ball with two jokers and two free throws each player.

Winners with 60 points on countback were Trevor Harvey and Tony Walker. Second, also 60, were John Helstrip and Malcolm Rose, and third with 59 were Mike Graves and Roy Rowe.

After twelve rounds Tony Walker is overall leader with 31 points, ahead of Alan Dolby 27, and Trevor Harvey and Jarvis Peden have 25.