Bowlers open doors for new players

Have your say

Whissendine BC

WHISSENDINE begin their competitive season at home against Empingham on Saturday and quickly follow that with an open day on Sunday.

Club spokesman Kathy Homer said: “We are a small friendly club and hope to attract new members. So we are having a free trial session on Sunday.”

The sessions at Whissendine Sports and Social Club are for new or former players and run from 2pm to 4pm. Bowls will be provided but players are asked to wear flat soled shoes.

Oakham BC

OAKHAM Ladies won a nail biting game against Brookfield 68-67 on Wednesday.

Having been behind for most of the game, Brookfield went ahead by five shots on the 19th end and held this lead on the 20th. Oakham then rose to the occasion and scored six to win on the final end. Winning skips were Barbara Phillips, Jenny Bateman and Beryl Birch.

Scores: Hazel Jeffrey, Mary Smith, Ann Preston-Bambridge, Barbara Phillips won 14–12, Eileen Wright, Brenda Lang, Maureen Walters, Jenny Bateman won 17–15, Joan Hawkins, Rita Hall, Janet Wright, Beryl Birch won 23-15, Pam Stanley, Di Culshaw, Ros Carter, Joan Haines lost 14–25.

OAKHAM’S Thursday team continued their excellent start to the season with a comprehensive 109-84 win over Evington Park, successful on four of the five rinks.

The match was even at the halfway stage but Oakham were the stronger finishers, winning by 25 shots. Star performers were the rink skippered by Bob Hammond which won by an impressive 17 shots.

Scores: John Moore, Derek Bury, Gail Robertson, Bob Hammond won 28–11, John Poulton, David Hillier, Bob Swarbrick, Barrie Payne won 24–16, Rod Stanley, Peter Ferry, Alan Jones, Chris Wallis won 19-15, David Morgan, Robin Bickers, Denis Smith, Ron Smurthwaite won 23–20, Ray Stacce, Rod Groombridge, Bob Spence, Norman Coville lost 15-22.

AFTER being comfortably ahead at the half way stage of their away match at Belgrave on Saturday Oakham’s men bowlers slumped inexplicably to their first defeat of the season, losing 93-78. The only winning rink was skipped by Denis Smith.

Scores: Derek Bury, David Hillier, Gail Robertson, Chris Wallis lost 15–17, Gwyn Davies, Ken Jennings, Rod Stanley, Bob Hammond lost 17–23, Lin Walters, Bill Stewart, Nigel Trigg, Barrie Payne lost 13–22, Ray Stace, Mary Smith, Bob Swarbrick, Ron Smurthwaite lost 6–22, Eddie Owen, Tony Flower, Ann Preston-Bambridge, Denis Smith won 27-9.