Braunston narrow gap at the top

Have your say

BRAUNSTON A have eased themselves into second place in Division 1 of the Stamford and Rutland Table Tennis League following an 8-2 victory at MTTG B.

By winning all three of his matches, Chuck Kershaw continues to lead the way for the villagers; and a brace of wins for both Brian Bodycote and Gary Cooper ensured a comfortable success.

Steve Williams replied with two for MTTG, and every point will be important as the season progresses.

Stamford School drop to third following an 8-2 reverse against Yaxley BL. A number of matches went the distance but the experience of the champions saw them through. Shaun Murray and Chris Pickard, despite the occasional scare, remained unbeaten.

Bourne A and Bourne B enjoyed a competitive draw in the division’s final match of the week. Every player won at least one rubber, but it was Rod Goss of the A squad who remained the only unbeaten player. Kevin Gladders won twice for the B team, and, together with Brian Spittlehouse, secured the draw in the doubles.

Despite a less successful week, Tallington A remain top of the second division. They lost their 100 percent record with a 3-7 defeat at the bats of Bourne C, for whom Harry Jackson remained unbeaten.

Ziggy Poberezniuk and Kevin Day also won twice for the visitors, while Paul Ramm replied with two wins of his own. Paul was unbeaten in the villagers’ 5-5 draw against Nomads. These were important wins, for both Nick Goodman and Nick McDowell won twice for Nomads.

Nomads lost another close match against Bourne D. Chris Holland led the way for Bourne with a full-house, and he was supported strongly by Kevin Greenfield. Nick McDowell picked up his second brace of the week in reply.

In a busy week for Nomads, Nick picked up his third brace at home to Braunston B. Unfortunately, his team lost 3-7 as Vic Hoffman remained unbeaten for Braunston, and he was supported by two wins apiece for Bill Seese and David Smart.

Braunston picked up their second win against Uffington CC A.

Martyn Dennis was unbeaten for the cricketers, but these were the visitors’ only points in a 3-7 scoreline. Cedric Phillips, Bill Seese and Vic Hoffman all won twice.