Burghley Park hosts awards evening

Prize-winners at Burghley Park Golf Club
Prize-winners at Burghley Park Golf Club
Have your say

Burghley Park clubhouse was packed last Friday for the annual presentation evening, at which all the club trophies won during the year were awarded.

Club captain Brian Churchill welcomed the more than 150 members, congratulated the winners on their achievements, and thanked David Tilley, Joan Hickman and all the members of the competitions committees for their work during the year.

Guest of honour was Peter Billinghay of Walters Office World, who have sponsored the Walters June Medal for the past 25 years. Peter’s reflections on changes over the last quarter century kick-started the evening well.

The Ladies prize went to Anne Fensome with a net 68, ahead of Gill Bedford and Hannah Vaughan. Robin King was a runaway winner in the men’s competition with an outstanding net 62.

The most prestigious awards of the evening are those for Club Champions, and both the Ladies and Men’s titles were retained by last years’ winners.

Nick Glover again came out on top in the men’s event with a gross score of 147, one shot ahead of George Beadle. The net prize went to junior vice-captain Matt Lem on net 138.

In the Ladies event, Hannah Vaughan’s gross 162 earned her the title for the fourth year in a row. Jo Bell took the net prize with a net 150.

In the Seniors championship, John Mayman took the Alec London trophy with 35 points, on countback from Peter Hickman.

George Beadle showed great resilience in the LCP Trophy, net and gross competitions played over three rounds in consecutive weeks for shields presented by Burghley Past Captain Les Pepper. One-handicapper Beadle put the disappointments of the club championship behind him to produce three stunning rounds of golf, shooting 74, 72 and 71 for a magnificent 217, which gave him the gross title by a massive 23 shots. His scores were also good enough to secure him the net title with a total of 214.

The Ladies’ closest equivalent is the Latimer Cup, awarded to the player with the best 6 net medal cards during the season. It’s difficult for a low handicapper to consistently play well in medals, so Hannah Vaughan’s achievement was impressive, especially as she had her handicap cut from 7 to 5 over the season.

Competition for the most improved player of the year titles is always strong, and this year 7 of the 8 most improved male players were juniors, which bodes well for the future.

The only adult to figure in the list, Robin King, watched his handicap tumbled from 28 to 17 over the year but this strong performance was shaded by Joe Bates, who came down from 18 to 7. On the Ladies side, the title went to Anne Fensome, who started the year on 36 and ended on 31.

In the knockout competitions, David Jackson and Javan Argent beat Richard Vaughan and George Beadle in the final to snatch the Men’s Winter League title.

Penny Campbell and Karen Stroud prevailed in the equivalent Ladies competition, beating Joan Hickman and Margaret Middleton in the final.

Dominic Higgs took on Mark Yarham over 36 holes in the final of the singles knockout for the 1895 Cup, and proved stronger on the day to take the title.

The Cottingham Salvers for the Men’s summer pairs went to Nick Glover and Neil Nottingham, who beat Jason Clarke & Craig Matthews in the final.

Pam Barton beat Anne Fensome to claim the Midweek knockout trophy.

The Mixed knockout for the Swindin Trophy was claimed by brother and sister Dean and Hannah Vaughan, who overcame Mick Chapman and Janet Duff over 18 holes.

The John Price Junior knockout title went to Jake Brown, beating Jordan Mayman in the final.

The Single Figure Cup went to Andrew Taylor with a net 70, one ahead of David Scott on 71. The 10-18 Cup was also closely contested, with Maurice Eggleston’s net 69 pipping Kevin Bates by one. The Rabbit Cup (for handicaps 19-28) was dominated by James Longbone, whose net 67 was four clear of runner-up Simon Howard.

Andrew Taylor’s good run of form continued into the PJ Trophy, which he took on countback from Barry Mills and Jim McFerran, all scoring an impressive 39 points.

The Juniors section is in good health with a number of promising players coming through under the enthusiastic guidance of John Mayman.

The Junior Champion title (net) was tightly contested, being claimed on countback by Lewin Auciello from Dean Vaughan, both shooting 68. However, Dean was a clear winner of the gross title, for the Luffenham Salver, with a gross 73, which also secured him the Latimer Trophy for the best U16 score.

The Burghley Juniors took the Milton Challenge Trophy and the Clarke-Chapman Cup, for victories against Peterborough Milton and Greetham Valley respectively, the first time for years that this double has been achieved.

Matt Lem was outstanding in the three round Peck Memorial (net) and Tate & Lyle (gross) competitions, claiming both. He took the Peck with a net 208, two shots clear of Paul York, and the Tate & Lyle with a gross 232, this time beating the unfortunate York on countback.

Several multiple winners appeared in the Ladies section, with Sue Churchill claiming the Medal Winners Salver, the Rudkin Cup, the PJ Trophy, the Ladies Quincentenary Cup and the Challenge Cup. Hannah Vaughan added the Capon Trophy and the David Blaik Medal to her victories, and Anne Fensome added the Rabbit Cup to her haul.

Other Ladies winners were Jo Bell and Hannah Vaughan (Ping 4 Ball), Mary Sharp and Carole Hollman (Coronation Foursomes), Gill Bedford and Hannah Vaughan (Daily Mail Foursomes), Penny Campbell (Golf Foundation Brooch), Lynn Collen (MacMillan Spoon), Jenny Harding (Heart Foundation Cup), Joan Hickman (Eclectic), Anne Fensome (EWGA Medal), Kay Hircock (Jubilee Cup), Stephanie Crook (Barnes Bowl), Mary Sharp and Juliet Reynolds (Bailey Foursomes), Chris Redfern and Pam Barton (Bolton Spoons), Val Jacobs and Jean Nourish (Autumn Shield), Ann Keen and Juliet Reynolds (Autumn Leaves), Margaret Middleton and Sally West (Autumn Cup).

Other Men’s and Mixed competition winners were Brian Churchill and Mary Sharpe (Bader Mixed), Javan Argent, Judy Cade, Hannah Vaughan and Dean Vaughan (Diamond Jubilee Scramble), John Mayman and Jake Brown (Adult and Junior Foursomes), Jake and John Brown (Jackson Trophy), Hannah and Dean Vaughan (Lifeboat Cup), John Mayman (Veterans Tankard), Matt Lem (Sandy Gray-Smith), Terry Moss (EGU Gold Medal), Bernard Clarke (2011 Medal Winners Shield), Ryan Birtles (Jim Shannon), Harry Tee (David Blaik Memorial), Jake Brown (Francis Friend Trophy), George Tee (Coronation Cup), Andrew, James and Adam Vaughan (3 Man Team Challenge), Nick Glover and David Scott (Jubilee Cup), Barry Dawson (Capon Memorial Trophy), Richard and Dean Vaughan (Father and Son), George and Harry Tee (Family Foursomes), Trevor Robson, Stuart Blesset and Ryan Birtles (Captains Prize),

Other monthly and midweek medals throughout the season were won by Joe Bates, Joe Regis (twice), Jon Tyrell, Terry Austin, Brian Eldred and Ian Jackson.

In the Ladies section, other medals were won by Mary Sharp, Jan Devlin (twice), Anne Fensome (three times), Kay Hircock (twice), Angela Glover (twice), Margaret Middleton, Hannah Vaughan (three times), Pam Barton, Sue Churchill and Jane Taylor.