Captains drive in the new season

2012 captains at Burghley Park Golf Club. From left, Richard Gilbert (vice-captain), Pat Harris (Ladies vice-captain), Jan Devlin (Ladies captain) and Brian Churchill (captain)''Photo supplied
2012 captains at Burghley Park Golf Club. From left, Richard Gilbert (vice-captain), Pat Harris (Ladies vice-captain), Jan Devlin (Ladies captain) and Brian Churchill (captain)''Photo supplied
Share this article
Have your say

Burghley Park

THE club’s new captains marked the start of their year with the traditional midnight drive-in during New Year’s Eve celebrations at Burghley Park Golf Club.

More than 130 members and guests attended on the evening with a dinner and dancing into the early hours of 2012.

Outgoing captain Keith Duff welcomed new club captain Brian Churchill, and new ladies’ captain Jan Devlin, along with new vice-captains Richard Gilbert and Pat Harris, and new seniors captain Bob Parker.

The annual New Year’s Day Texas Scramble took place the next morning with 76 members (19 teams) braving an early 9am start.

Scoring was good and competition was keen, on an almost balmy January morning. Prizes were presented by new club captain Brian Churchill, officiating at the first event of his captain’s year.

Winners were the team of Gary Lang-Norris, John Hughes, Ian Clark and Sid Bowers with a score of 56.3, beating Andy Vaughan, Adam Vaughan, James Vaughan and Matt Lem (56.7) into second place. Third spot was decided on countback, with Dave Lennie, Chris Quinn, Francis Williams and Paul York (56.8) taking the final placing.

Greetham Valley

NEW Year’s Day marked the changing of the guard at Greetham Valley.

Last year’s captains Bob Green and Jackie Friend drove out of office, followed by the new captains for 2012, Jim Wheeler and Eileen Pare in front of more than 80 members and staff at the club.

After that, it was a rush to get to their allocated tees before a shotgun start to a nine-hole pairs combined Stableford competition.

The front nine was won by Steff Dutton and Nicola Toon with a combined score of 38 points. Runners-up with 35 points were the 2012 vice captains, Trevor Smith and Sheila Douty with 35 points.

Peter De Kremer and Ian Cunningham took the back nine with a fantastic score of 42, Paul Holliday and Dave Pusch were runners-up with another great score of 39.

The club’s new captains have announced that their charity for 2012 is Stamford’s Evergreen Care Trust. The Trust assist older people who experience day-to-day difficulties and more than £330 was raised to start the charity fund off with a bang.

l A few days before the captains’ drive-in, 32 players entered the club’s order of merit Christmas Special, organised by Neil Harris.

Some players struggled in windy conditions but winner John Sparks took it all in his stride and came in with the top score of 39.

Graham Smith took second on countback from Peter Bagshaw. Both scored 38 points. Fourth and fifth were also decided on countback, Steve Anderson was fourth and Andrew Queen fifth. Both scored 37. The final place was taken by Ian Cunningham with 36.

The first order of merit of 2012 will be on January 8.