Carr fights back on final lap

Dan Carr, left, winner of the 1895 Singles knockout at Burghley Park, with his caddie Richard Vaughan s
Dan Carr, left, winner of the 1895 Singles knockout at Burghley Park, with his caddie Richard Vaughan s
Have your say

Burghley Park’s Club Championship was decided by the smallest of margins when David Scott pipped George Beadle for the title by a shot.

This year’s championship was played in a new format on Sunday, with the best six gross scores from 13 qualifying competitions through the season counting for the title.

Scott and Beadle had been clear of the field for most of the season, and Beadle went into the final round one shot ahead. He came in with 11 pars and a birdie in his round of 75, but a three-putt bogey on 18 sealed his fate.

Scott went out out later in the day, knowing he needed 73 or better. He came in with 15 pars and three bogeys for the 73 he needed.

His six round total of 434 (71+71+75+73+71+73) put him one ahead of Beadle’s 435 (71+72+71+75+71+75). Matt Lem took third overall with 450, ahead of Duncan Black on 457 and James Grant on 458.

l It has been a good year for Scott, who a few weeks earlier had won the annual pairs knockout competition for the Cottingham Trophy with his partner Neil Nottingham.

The pair took on Dave Brankin and Roger Howard in the final, played over 18 holes as a better ball competition.

They enjoyed a 5&3 win with Nottingham retaining the trophy he won last year with a different partner.

l The men’s individual knockout final was contested over 36 holes, and featured impressive junior Dan Carr who took on Simon Chester.

Carr, who was giving away eight shots in each 18 holes, was behind in the morning round, and with 10 holes of the afternoon round left was four down. Encouraged by his caddie Richard Vaughan, Carr fought back to level deep in the back nine. He got his nose in front by winning the 35th hole, and held on to halve the last hole and snatch the title 1 Up.

Carr said: “I was pleased that I managed to hang on and grab the opportunity when it came.”

l The final of the mixed knockout competition for the Swindin Trophy, a foursomes format, was contested last week between Bob and Julie Emmins and Rod and Chris Wright. The Wrights found inspiration over the last couple of holes to edge a 1 Up win and claim the trophy for the first time.

l The three-round LCP Trophy finished on Sunday with 85 players turning out. Tom McAlpin in Division 3 got the day’s low score, with a net 67 which cut him from 24 to 23. James Grant recorded a net 68, and Chris Addy and Cliff Harper came in with 69s.

Results: (Div 1) - 1st James Grant 72-4=68, 2nd Cliff Harper 79-10=69, 3rd David Scott 73-3=70; (Div 2) - 1st Jon Tyrrell 81-11=70, 2nd Bob Moss 84-14=70, 3rd John Neal 82-11=71; (Div 3) – 1st Tom Mcalpin 91-24=67, 2nd Chris Addy 84-15+69, 3rd Dave Brankin 85-15=70.

The overall LCP Trophy is an aggregate medal contest over three rounds, with separate trophies for the gross and net sections. Grant ended up as clear winner of both.

In the gross section he started one shot ahead of George Beadle.

Grant recorded a two over par 72 to extend his lead and took the trophy with an aggregate 220 (73+75+72). Beadle was second with 224, ahead of Matt Lem on 228 and Richard Vaughan on 233.

In the net section, Grant extended a two-shot
advantage over Lem, returning a net 68 for a 208 total and the title. Lem scored a net 72 to end up six behind on 214.

Paul Evans started the day in third, one ahead of Richard Vaughan and John Neal, but his net 74 saw him slip behind both. Neal’s 71 secured him third place.

l The October Midweek Stableford had 49 entries. Paul Evans won with 40 points in Division 1, cutting him from 6 to 5, Jim Clarke (37 points) was second and was cut to 12, and Matt Lem (36 points, cut to four) was third. Alan Cole won Division 2 with 38 points and was cut to 16, Peter Day (36) was second, and Charles Cade (36, cut to 25) third.

l The Mixed team end of season contest on Saturday saw 24 play an American Greensomes. Phil Hunt and Pippa Lesage won with 41 points, ahead of Jo Bell & Rod Wright (38), and Anne Fensom & Brian Churchill (37).