Clarke takes over as club chairman

Have your say

BURGHLEY Park Golf Club will have several new faces at the top of the organisation in 2012.

Long-serving chairman John Mayman stood down after nine years in the hot seat at the recent annual meeting and he was replaced by Gerry Clarke who had been treasurer for the past five years.

Club captain Keith Duff paid tribute to the service and achievements of them both, and all of those who had contributed to the running of the club during the year, before reflecting on another successful season for the club.

Highlights of the year included the performance of the Men’s A and B teams, led by Richard Vaughan and Paul Evans respectively, who retained their places in the top flight of the South Lincolnshire scratch league; promotion for the Ladies B team, led by Anne Ramamoorthy after an unbeaten season, and a highly successful Pro-Am in the summer.

Duff thanked all those who had contributed to the club’s activities throughout the year, including ladies captain Sue Churchill, seniors captain Eric McCaig, juniors captain James Vaughan and C team captain Richard Cook.

Brian Churchill was voted in as club captain for 2012, with Jan Devlin as ladies captain.

Both will celebrate the start of their year with the Captain’s Drive-in at midnight on New Years Eve.

l SENIORS Captain Eric McCaig presided over the final act of his captains year at Burghley Park Golf Club last week, when he hosted the annual Seniors Dinner.

More than 100 members and guests enjoyed dinner, dancing and the captain’s review of the year.

Guests were also delighted by an unexpected appearance by the Whistling Tums, whose interpretation of Colonel Bogey exposed a level of exhibitionism previously unsuspected by their colleagues in the Seniors Section.

McCaig paid tribute to the many people who had contributed to the success of the Seniors Section during the year, and hoped that the incoming seniors captain, Bob Parker, would have an equally successful and enjoyable year.

l BURGHLEY Park men were blessed with clear and dry weather for their annual Christmas competition last Sunday, when a full field of 94 scrapped for the generous prizes on offer.

Top prize went to Jim Clarke, pipping Roger Teasdale on countback. Both came in with 39 points.

Third and fourth places were also decided by countback, with Terry Moss edging out Barry Mills, both on 38.

The Ladies competition, played a day earlier in cold and crisp weather, was a team event.

Anne Ramamoorthy, Ann Hughes and Karen Norton took the honours with Chris Clarke, Chris Wright and Gill Webb claiming second spot.

All the players welcomed the warmth of the halfway house, which Janet Duff had decked out as Santa’s Grotto, and where mulled wine and the company of Father Christmas was available to chilled competitors.

Stoke Rochford Golf Club

THIRTY-SEVEN Stoke seniors braved freezing squally showers to play a pairs combined save it or dump it competition with 12 of the 18 holes to count.

Winners on countback with 50 points were Dave Waling and Jarvis Peden. Second, also with 50 points, were Tony Walker and Duncan Bennett with Mike Dickinson and Phillip Varley third on countback with a score of 49 points. Also on 49 points were Alan Dolby and Mike Palmer.

Overall leader after six rounds is Les Cooper with 16 points, followed by Alan Dolby, Keith Eddy. Mike Palmer and Jarvis Peden who all have 14.