Club celebrates coach’s 20 years

Liz and Frank Muston, and Frank and Mavis Wolloff at Oakham Bowls Club on June 5, 2011
Liz and Frank Muston, and Frank and Mavis Wolloff at Oakham Bowls Club on June 5, 2011
Have your say

WHEN Frank Wolloff gave up refereeing football after 36 years he looked around for another sport and discovered bowls.

This week, the dedication of the Oakham bowls coach has been honoured by the English Bowls Coaching Scheme.

Frank, who was persuaded that he would be more useful as a coach than an umpire more than 20 years ago, received a certificate of commendation from county coach Frank Muston at an informal presentation at the Oakham club on Sunday.

Frank Wolloff coached bowls at Birstall and Fosse Way before coming to Oakham in 1991 and two decades later he continues to coach and play the game at a high level. During winter seasons he has been a coach of juniors at Melton Indoor Bowling Club where several of his young protegés became England internationals.

Oakham BC President Alan Jones and 40 guests from Oakham and clubs in Leicestershire were at the ceremony.

l OAKHAM’s Thursday Team extended their unbeaten run to seven matches with a comfortable 90-56 win against Holwell.

Oakham won on all four rinks. The top skips were Chris Wallis with a 16 shot victory and Gail Robertson with 15 shot win.

Results: Roger Lancaster, David Morgan, Bob Swarbrick, Chris Wallis won 27-11; Les Wright, David Hillier, Ray Gregory, Gail Robertson won 26-11; John Poulton, Derek Bury, John Moore, Ron Smurthwaite won 20-18; Bob Spence, Rod Groombridge, Lin Walters, Bob Hammond won 17 - 16.

l OAKHAM’s Mens Saturday team won their first ever fixture against Oadby 107-79 with three of the rinks decided on the last end. Oakham convinginly won the other two.

Results: Chris Smith, Bill Stewart, Bob Swarbrick, Bob Hammond won 27-11; Eddie Owen, David Hillier, Vijay Dighe, Rick Tarleton won 27-13; Brian Garner, Richard Ward, Derek Bury, Chris Wallis won 19-18; Roger Hale, Mike Timms, Peter Gleeson, Barrie Payne lost 19-20; Les Wright, Mervyn Jones, Lin Walters, Gail Robertson lost 15-17.

More bowls results on page 37