Crucial victory boosts Oaks’ promotion chase

Rugby action from Oakham Showground - Oakham v Leicester Forest'Photo: MSMP120113-049js
Rugby action from Oakham Showground - Oakham v Leicester Forest'Photo: MSMP120113-049js
Have your say

The Oaks shut out Leicester Forest to give their promotion challenge a massive boost at the Showground on Saturday afternoon.

Oakham won 13-0 to move up to third and deal a blow to their opponents’ own hopes of grabbing a promotion spot in the Midlands 2 East (North) division.

Front row Rhys Grieve scored the game’s only try midway through the first half, securing the ball at a line-out several metres from the Leicester line from where the Oaks drove their maul over the line.

“We are not usually that dominant in the forwards so that was very pleasing,” said Armstrong.

“It was important to get the win,” said the Oaks’ player coach. “We did not play at our best but we played sensibly and defensively we were very good.

“A couple of times they were held up over our line but our back row was awesome, especially Carel Fourie. He was superb.”

Mark Matthews kicked the conversions and two penalties to round off the afternoon’s scoring.

Oakham have no fixture this weekend but then travel to table-topping Coalville on January 26 and a repeat of that result would throw the title race wide open.

The Oaks are the only side to have beaten Coalville in the league this season, winning 24-18 in October and Armstrong was bullish about his side’s chances, saying: “When we played them at our place they did not look anything special.

“I think it will be a close game but if we are disciplined we have nothing to worry about.”

After Coalville, Oakham still have fourth-placed Belgrave and fifth-placed Dronfield to play during a tough run-in.

Oakham (v Leics Forest): Adam Price, Alum Meadows, Rhys Grieve (Ryan Corner), Phil Gant, Andrew Wallace, Adam Downing, Carel Fourie (Martyn Stimson), Angus Boyle, Loe Lunn, Mark Matthews, Adam Stimson (Oli Easson), Corey Archard, Tom Armstrong, James Beanland, Will Armstrong.