Cunningham breaks order of merit records at Greetham Valley Golf Club

editorial image
Have your say

Adrian Cunningham is having a record-breaking season in the winter order of merit competition at Greetham Valley Golf Club.

In the three years that the winter order of merit has been running, almost 60 rounds have been held. In the first two years, only two people managed to win more than one round.

But this season and after just 13 rounds, Cunningham, from Melton, has already had three wins.

The weather was cold and windy but mercifully, dry for round 14 on Saturday.

Cunningham took full advantage to finish a point ahead of Carl Causbrook and two ahead of Martin Baughton.

He loses two further shots off his handicap, Causbrook loses one and Baughton, 0.5. Graham Smith was relegated to fourth on countback.

Cunningham’s win gives him a 98-point lead over Causbrook, who moved up from sixth to second, and a further 10 more than Kev Hingle who dropped to third.

Graham Smith moved up to fourth place and Trevor Smith drops from third to fifth. Steve Anderson drops to sixth place, Fred Aspin retains seventh, Jim Wheeler had a good move this week, jumping from 13th to eighth. Adam Clegg and Ben Miles round off the top ten.

l Hayley Hunt had another win in the Ladies order of merit on Saturday, Jackie Friend finishing second and Sue Ellis third.

Hunt leads the field as a multiple winner, Helen Woolley, who has also had a win in the series, is second and Jackie Friend is third.

l Seniors play ten games in their order of merit, taking their best five scores to count.

Steve Taylor sits at the top of the table with 178 points after seven rounds.

Second-placed Peter Morris is just nine points behind and single handicapper Ken Stewart sits a further three points behind.

Seniors captain Radley Wardhaugh said that with three more rounds to count and possible icy weather to come, it is still possible for anybody in the top seven or eight to take the title.

The top two pairs in each division of the winter league will go forward to the quarter finals after the round robin series finishes next week.

In division one, James Ablett and Bryan Birchall have played five games. They have won four and drawn one, so no matter what happens in the next game, they will go forward into the quarters.

Andy Dickinson and Brian McInerney have eight points but Gary Moat and Adam Smith have six.

Ali McNaughton and Dave Pusch, who lead division two, also look destined for the quarters as does Bill Skinner and Peter Key - they have nine and eight points respectively.

Trevor Smith and president John Sparks look set to triumph in division three, having won four and drawn one for nine points.

Former winners Pete Dickinson and Peter Smith have seven points, having won three, drawn one and lost one.

Division four leaders club captain Shaun Denholm and Wayne Terrett won on Saturday to claim nine points from four wins and a draw.

Iain Bain and Dave Morgan have seven points in second.However, Alan Bennett and Nick Cunnington have the same amount of wins, a draw and a loss - and seven points.