Great delight at Mandy’s Mayhem

Have your say

TOFT players took great delight in competing for Mandy’s Mayhem Fun Competition, a Texas Scramble in honour of the 50th birthday of Mandy Lees.

Twenty-three women battled in good playing conditions in teams of three and the strong line-up of Sandra Wildmore, Viv Stanton and Pat Key ran out the winners on 67.7. Mairead Scott, Barbara Hare and Anne Barrett were second on 70.4 and the team of Lorraine Robinson, Sue Slowey and Sheila Parker came third on 72.

The post-competition buffet and drinks were provided by the birthday girl along with prizes for nearest the pin on the third, won by Dianne Clayton, and on the 13th, won by Karen Parsonage.

l TOFT ladies were pitted against Wyboston Lakes Ladies in the 6th round of The Mail On Sunday competition and they produced an outstanding performance to win 4-1 and move into round seven.

Mandy Lees won 4 & 3, Helen Roscoe and Alison Ravenhill both won 4 & 2 and Mairead Scott and Cathy Lee both made a half. Team Captain Lorraine Robinson was thrilled with the way her team set about their challenge and came in with such a comprensive victory.

l FOURTEEN players entered the midweek medal last Wednesday with Nick Garland winning with a net 69. Second was Steven Pacey with 71.

l THE Saturday Stableford featured 29 players competing on a very windy day,

The winner was Malcolm Webb with 39 points. Second was Keith Simms with 38 on countback from third-placed R Smith with 38 and Dick Neal was fourth.

l TOFT mens team beat Belton Woods 3½-2½ at home in the South Lincolnshire League with James Dair and Nick Welsh scoring a birdie on the 18th to halve their match.

James Dair/Nick Welsh halved; Emile Van Der Merwe/Adam Freear won 8/6; Nick Garland/Ian Mitchell won 4/3; Scott Freear/Alan Barbes won 3/1; S Stubbley/James Delplanque lost 1 down; Chris Magill/Graham Burns lost 5/4.

Toft’s B Team played away at Belton Woods on Saturday and lost 5 – 1.

Results: Stuart Parker/Les Lawrence lost 1 down; Alan Smith/Robert Creasey lost 3/2; Harry Wild/Ian Moore lost 6/4; Richard Smith/Paul Taylor lost 5/3; Simon Wall/James Joyce lost 1 down and Mick Bates/Graham Moore won 6/4.