Kingfisher team reclaim national title

Hunter Formula National Championships at Rutland Water. Photo: Linda Jones EMN-140617-110138001
Hunter Formula National Championships at Rutland Water. Photo: Linda Jones EMN-140617-110138001
Have your say

Rutland Sailing Club hosted the Hunter Formula One National Championships over the long weekend from Friday to Sunday.

A slightly smaller than usual fleet took part with seven local boats joined by Umzingeli, sailed by Ralph Mason and team from Hamble.

A delayed race 1 resembled a watery game of snakes and ladders with the light wind switching on and off randomly and each leg of the race being upwind at some time or other.

Ominously for the rest of the fleet, Kingfisher from Rutland SC, sailed by Chris Wright, Dave Borrett and Matt Hollis, won convincingly having escaped the pack.

Second was Rutland’s Apocalypse, sailed by class association secretary Nick Bett, Declan Flanagan and Neil Duerden and third was Tenacious, also from Rutland SC, sailed by Mark Felton, Mary Bancroft and Stuart Cook.

Race 2 was much tighter and was shortened after two laps, with Rutland’s Tearaway, sailed by Bruce Bonar, Andrew Bonar, Graham Colam and Edward Ashworth overhauling Kingfisher to win. Kingfisher was second and Apocalypse third.

Saturday morning saw a nice 6-8 knots of breeze but race 3 ended up being a long one with the wind shifting. Kingfisher and Apocalypse sprinted past Tearaway for the top two places.

Kingfisher led race 4 from start to finish, with Tearaway second and Tenacious third.

Despite a bad start, Kingfisher crept through in race 5 for their third win of the day, ahead of Tearaway, with Apocalypse third.

Tearaway nailed the start of Sunday’s first race, holding on for their second race win, with Kingfisher following them in to secure the National Championship title with a race to spare.

Apocalypse finished third and Growler from Rutland SC, sailed by Nick Verdino, Nick Verdino Jnr, Will Hall and John Dixon, continued their improvement for fourth.

The final race saw the tightest racing of the weekend with Growler getting a fantastic start and holding on until the last windward leg, finshing second after Tearaway sneaked through. Apocalypse were third.

Kingfisher, sailed by Chris Wright, a stalwart of the Rutland Formula One fleet, were the thoroughly deserving winners of the event and collected the stunning trophy he last won back in 2009.

Tearaway finished second overall for the second year running, with Apocalypse third and Growler fourth.