Leaders drop first points

Share this article
Have your say

DESPITE dropping their first point of the season, Yaxley BL retain a firm grip on Division 1 of the Stamford and Rutland Table Tennis League.

In remaining unbeaten, Shaun Murray earned revenge over Julien Tee, the only player to have defeated him so far this season. Chris Weston won twice against his former teammates, but a consistent team performance from MTTG A enabled them to dent Yaxley’s record.

Denise Jacobi was the star for Stamford School as they defeated Stamford Free Church 8-2.

She won all three of her singles matches, while Leigh Ware and Richard Henry each won twice before joining forces to win the doubles. Peter Munch picked up two wins for the Churchmen as a consolation.

The top two Bourne teams enjoyed a successful week. Bourne A overcame Braunston A 6-4, with David Needham unbeaten; Bourne B overwhelmed their C team 10-0, with Brain Spittlehouse, Ian Castle and Ray Tong the successful players. Just two points separate the three teams immediately below Yaxley.

After a break, Braunston B return to the top of Division 2 following an impressive 7-3 victory over in-form Tallington A. David Smart claimed three wins and he was strongly supported by Bill Seese and Cedric Phillips with two wins apiece. Paul Ramm replied with two victories of his own, but this reverse damages the villagers’ title hopes.

Tallington’s B team also suffered a 7-3 defeat at the bats of Bourne E. Mike Shattock was the only undefeated player on the evening.

Bourne D travelled to Stamford Queen Eleanor and left with a 10-0 win.