Luffenham enjoy giant-killing role

Have your say

North Luffenham GC

NORTH Luffenham pulled off another giant-killing act in the Mail on Sunday knock out competition, beating Belton Park 3-2.

Keeping the same team that had beaten Stoke Rochford in the previous round, Alan Swindley opened the tie beating his opponent by one up. Peter Barker followed this, winning his match by the same margin.

Already two up, captain Dave Wildman sealed the victory with a convincing 5 and 4 win. Tom Little then lost his tie 5 and 3 with Gordon Knox losing by 2 holes in the last tie.

The Sunday medal for February was cancelled due to the frozen ground, but the midweek medal survived. Jim Ashworth was the eventual winner with an excellent 69, earning him a one shot reduction to 12.

Second on countback was Malcolm Hird (off 17), who just missed out on a handicap reduction.

Dave Wildman is the new club captain, and at 25, must be one of the youngest in the country. Ken Jones is the new vice-captain, with Malcolm Hird taking over from him as Seniors captain. Doreen Bilsdon will continue as Ladies captain.

Greetham Valley GC

STEVE Lesiakowski won the final winter medal of the year at Greetham Valley with a net score of 64.

The 15-handicapper got off to a great start on the Lakes course, birdying the first and dropping just a single shot on the front nine.

His back nine wasn’t as smooth, dropping three on the par three 14th but he steadied himself for the final four holes to finish with a gross 79 and win the Division One March medal.

Two handicapper and men’s vice-captain Trevor Smith had a fantastic round which featured four birdies.

But a bogey on the eighth and a visit to the trees on the left pushed Trevor into second overall. He still claimed the lowest gross prize.

David Squires, off 11, and 15-handicapper Mark Bell had to be separated on countback after they both came in with a net 68. David took third thanks to a better back nine.

Division two was won by 18-handicapper Andy Parker, who worked hard to minimise the damage from four double bogies. Andy had a gross 89 (net 71) and also won the divisions lowest gross prize.

Cameron Addison, playing off 20 was second. He had a gross 93 (net 73) and took it on countback from Alan Childerley who scored a gross 94 off a 21 handicap.

l THE first qualifier for the season will be on March 31 and will be the Anniversary Trophy, to celebrate Greetham Valley’s 20th anniversay as a golf club.

l WEEK 19 of the Winter Order of Merit was played in a balmy 18 degrees but despite the warm conditions, scoring on the Lakes course was low due to almost three quarters of the field having had their handicap cut at least once during the season.

Shaun Denholm had managed to stay under the radar with steady rather than spectacular scores to keep out of the cut zone, and his well-crafted 40 – including an incredible 30 foot par putt on the 18th, was enough to win. His handicap was promptly cut from 15 to 13.

Dave Copley, playing off six, who had been cut twice already, came in with a great score of 38 to take second place and keep the pressure on the leader. Dave was cut to five. Third place went to six-handicapper Simon Welsh for his score of 36.

Players names are moving about at the top of the leaderboard with very few points between them. Only 26 points cover sixth to second places with just nine points between third and sixth.

Adam Clegg retains his overall lead with 271 points but Dave Copley has jumped up five places to move into second spot with 253. Greetham Valley president Martin Boughton is third on 236 but this was his last game in the series leaving his third spot is up for grabs.

The perennial Bob Beverley sits in fourth place only two points behind with Graham Smith hot on his heels in fifth with 227. Fraser Denholm rounds off the top six with 227.

Stoke Rochford GC

THIS week’s Seniors Winter Warmer was a best two from three Stableford played in squally and wintery conditions.

Top scorers, with 80 points, were Nev Marris, Eric Bamford and Alan Dolby. Second on 79 were David Hamilton, Ron Kent and Barry Coop with third place going on countback to Jim Price, Colin Howett and Mike Palmer.

New overall leader is Alan Dolby on 42 points, ahead of Tony Walker 40 with Ron Kent 38 ahead of the next, and final, round.