Oakham win Leicestershire title in thrilling style

Oakham RFC U15s
Oakham RFC U15s
Have your say

Oakham won the Leicestershire RFU U15 cup with a thrilling 22-7 victory over holders Oadby Wyggs.

Fly-half Alex Waycott led the way with a touchdown following a dummy switch move after just three minutes.

He added the conversion from under the posts to put his team 7-0 up in the final which was played at Loughborough RFC on Sunday.

The scores remained this way until the second half when Waycott struck again early in the second period.

After good work by the forwards, prop Jacob Paget raced over for a try as Oakham took control at 17-0.

Oadby hit back with a converted try after a tap penalty move to make it 17-7.

Oakham centre Calum Corbett restored his team’s confidence and extended their lead by gliding through the opposition defence to score under the posts.

The win was hard-fought but thoroughly deserved in a match between two pedigree teams. Full credit to the squad and their coaches Mick Hudson and Paul Dickens.

Oakham’s squad: Matthias Moss, Eddie Hudson, Jacob Paget, Ollie Nettleton, George Bagshaw, Tim Stuart, Jules Brahmachari, Isaac Troughton, Henry Wills, Oscar McAughtrie, Gordon Taylor, Alex Waycot, Dylan Edwards, Callum Corbett, Stefan Farey, Lollo Sidwell, Ben Shepherd, Harry Barnett, David Cunnington, Leon Moule, Adam Skinner, Fred Carter, Adam Saleem, Sam Martin, Aiden Moloney, Jack Wright.