Perfect winning start for new club

Share this article
Have your say

St Ives 1 Bourne Deeping 4

BOURNE Deeping men’s 1st XI enjoyed a great start to the season, beating St Ives 4-1 away on Saturday.

A frantic first 15 minutes resulted in a 1-1 scoreline with both sides pushing forward and a lot of goalscoring chances created before the two sides settled down defensively.

A slick, well-worked goal scored by Nick Glover settled the team down and, utilising an effective press, Bourne Deeping took control of the game.

The first half ended 3-1 to Bourne Deeping and they continued to press in the second half.

Despite a lot of goalscoring opportunities and short corners, early season sloppiness led to missed chances and only one goal was added in the second half in a solid all-round performance from newly-formed Bourne Deeping team.

Goalscorers were Nick Glover, John Plant, Nick Brocklehurst and Stuart Biggs.

BDHC: Tim Beaver, Jason Purlant, Peter Jeffery, John Plant, Chris Clarkson, Alex Glover, Phil Arnold, Tommy Stopper, Nick Glover, Stuart Biggs, Nick Brocklehurst, Henry Winfield-Chislett.

Bourne Deeping Ladies 2

Cambridge Nomads 3

BOURNE Deeping Ladies lost a hard fought match against Cambridge Nomads in their second game of the season.

Nomads scored early on with a strike from a short corner, and found the net again shortly after. But the home team rallied and produced several chances of their own with Jenny Jackson finding the goal after a long ball from Jenny Tuffin.

The second half produced more chances for Bourne Deeping who managed to keep their cool despite several hard tackles and fouls from Nomads. Great linking play between Bethan Lewis, Laura Tompson-Wright and Jackson set up Carol Murray to put the shot away.

Another goal from Nomads sealed the win, although the last ten minutes were evenly matched with excellent defending from Marie Barber and Natasha Newitt.

BDHC Ladies: Angela Cox, Sian Jones, Marie Barber, Ellie Allam, Natasha Newitt, Jenny Tuffin, Sue Oakley, Bethan Lewis, Carol Murray, Jenny Jackson, Laura Tompson-Wright, Katrina Kennedy.

Bourne Deeping 2nd XI 1

St Ives 3rd XI 1

EXPECTATIONS were high in the opening league game of the season for Bourne Deeping 2nds following the previous week’s result against St Neots.

The new team made a few early mistakes but soon started to turn defence into attack with Ash Stretton and Chris Mann dominating midfield, and Kevin Baker and Ben Dalgliesh breaking on the wings.

The second half started with Philip Tokens changing formation and Bourne Deeping put immediate pressure on the St Ives defence with Shane Carlton making a nuisance of himself around the back of St Ives defence.

Finally Bourne Deeping broke into the St Ives D and Dalgliesh scored from a rebound.

St Ives responded strongly and levelled from a short corner that Joe Wray couldn’t keep out.

BDHC 2nd: Joe Wray, Shane Carlton, Simon Wilmott, John Green, Peter Hotchkin, Paul Byrne, Philip Tokens, Mike Gregson, Chris Mann, Ash Stretton, Kevin Baker, Ben Dalgliesh.

Cambridge Uni Ladies 4th XI 1

Bourne Deeping Ladies 2nd XI 0

DESPITE playing well and coming close to scoring a few times BDHC were unable to score on Saturday.

Cambridge managed to slip past the defence early in second half, and achieved what Bourne Deeping had failed to do and converted their chance.

It was cruel for BDHC who should won their first points of season.

BDHC Ladies 2nd: Amy Ewing, Becky Warr, Nicky Wallace, Ang Cox, Kate McShane, Lottie, Isia, Caroline Geddes, Francesca Lyon, Emily Reeson, Eirfat Mustafa.

Bourne Deeping 3rd XI 4

Peterborough 7th XI 2

BDHC’s 3rd XI found themselves 1-0 down after just 90 seconds against fierce local rivals Peterborough Town.

It wasn’t long before Matt Clarkson grabbed an equaliser and skipper Joe Allen then made it 2-1 from a tight angle. Carmody rounded the ‘keeper for the third goal to give BDHC some breathing space at half time.

Peterborough hit the post before Richard Garrett cooly slotted home the fourth.

BDHC 3rd: Joe Wray, Paul Curtis, Lewis Stedman, Stewart Dacre, Richard Garrett, Graham Brewer, Graham Barnes, Neil Burford, Matt Clarkson, Joe Allen, Conor Carmody, Richard Arnold.