Pick and Mix win Oakham’s gala

Oakham Bowling Club members at the club's gala day on Sunday'Photo: John Rogers
Oakham Bowling Club members at the club's gala day on Sunday'Photo: John Rogers
Share this article
Have your say

OAKHAM bowling Club held their annual Gala Day on Sunday with 14 teams of four competing over five games of eight ends in hot, humid conditions.

The quartet of Anne Preston-Bambridge, Nigel Trigg, Graham Cook and Alan Jones, playing as Pick and Mix, won the match competition with Murrants Marauders (Paul Murrant, Janet and John Rogers and Geoff Thurman) secondm and Jenny and the Giants (Jenny Bateman, Chris Wallis, Rick Tarleton,and Barrie Helsby) in third place.

A substantial amount - still to be confirmed - was raised for the Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Rutland Air Ambulance Service. A special mention was made for the ladies of the club who made and supplied the food, and Yvonne Poulton, Bet Swarbrick, Anne Stace, Pam Stanley, Margaret Broughton, Jan Davies and Carol Stewart who plied the players with food and drink throughout the day, and also to Sheila Wadsworth and Les Wright who sold the raffle tickets.

Oakham 137 Keyworth 71

OAKHAM failed to win the four match OK Cup despite a huge 66 shot victory against Keyworth in the final round.

Overall the Rutlanders were beaten by 13 shots but they put in a magnificent performance, winning on all six rinks, last week.

Star performers were John Rogers and his team, who won by 30 shots with their opposition only scoring on four of the 21 ends played.

Results: Anne Preston-Bambridge, Brian Garner, Ray Gregory and John Rogers won 34-4; Vijay Dighe, Peter Ferry, Gail Robertson and Ron Smurthwaite won 23-10; Lin Walters, David Hillier, Gwyn Davies and Bob Hammond won 22-13; Derek Bury, Eileen Wright, Barrie Payne and Chris Wallis won 19-10; Ray Stace, Jack Pearce, Denis Smith and Alan Jones won 21-18; Nigel Trigg, Mike Hardy, Peter Gleeson and Ivan Lang won 17-16.

Oakham 90 Leicester Banks 55

OAKHAM’s men beat Leicester Banks on Thursday with an easy victory, winning on three of the 4 rinks by a margin of 35 shots.

Winning skips were Ivan Lang, Rick Tarleton and Chris Wallis.

Results: Eddie Owen, John Moore, Gail Robertson and Ivan Lang won 30-8; Roger Lancaster, Brian Garner, Peter Ferry and Rick Tarleton won 24-12; Dave Thorne, Derek Bury, Alan Jones and Chris Wallis won 18-14, Lin Walters, Vijay Dighe, Denis Smith and Ron Smurthwaite lost 18-21.