Quarter-final pairs are settled at Burghley

Have your say

The quarter-final line-up for he winter league at Burghley Park is clear following the conclusion of the group stages last week.

Results in round 7 went largely to form, and with the top two teams in each league progressing, there were virtually no changes from the standings at the end of the previous round.

In league A, Bob Emmins and Chris Bradshaw maintained their grip at the top, beating Chris Lees and Bob Chapman 4&3 to go through to the knockout stages as group winners with 15 points.

Stuart Blesset and Martin Ash needed just a draw to go through as runners-up, but made sure of qualification with a 7&6 defeat of James Longbone and & Harry Tee.

Long-time league leaders Alan Cole and Chris Townsend slipped to third, having suffered too many reverses in key matches.

In league B, a 2&1 win for Paul Yorkand Mark Duffen ensured they finished top of the table with 16 points, three ahead of Paul and Lewin Auciello, who halved their last match, against James Vaughan and Dan Carr.

This was the tightest league of all and the outcome was up in the air until the results of the final game came in.

Terry Austin and Peter Seyderhelm made a late dash for glory, climbing from sixth to third with a 2&1 win over Stuart Ward & John Tyrrell, but fell a point shy of qualification.

League C was dominated throughout by two teams, who could only be separated by holes won countback.

Paul Wilkinson and John Mayman won their final match 3&2 to finish on 18 points, pushing John Tilley and Charlie Gardiner (also 18) into second place.

The unluckiest team must be Dean Vaughan and Matt Lem, whose 16 points would have seen them through from any other division.

In League D, a late run from David Jackson and Javan Argent saw them grab top spot with 18 points. Long term leaders Graham Camp and Steve Hopkins halved with Jon and Jake Brown to hang onto second with 16 points.

The quarter finals are due to be played by March 3 and throw up some interesting match-ups.

Bob Emmins and Chris Bradshaw are pitted against Phil and Lewin Auciello, Stuart Blesset and Martin Ash will play Paul York and Mark Duffen, Paul Wilkinson and John Mayman will take on Graham Camp and Brian Barber, and John Tilley and Charlie Gardiner will face Javan Argent and David Jackson.