Raft of prizes for Greetham golfers

Jordan Burdall and Jim Wheleer at Greetham Valley
Jordan Burdall and Jim Wheleer at Greetham Valley
Share this article
Have your say

Greeetham Valley Golf Club held its end-of-year prize night last week with a host of prizes for 2012 winners.

The annual Colin Easson Motors prizes went to Susan Ker (ladies), James Horwood (men’s) and Jordan Burdall (juniors).

As well as the win in the Colin Easson Motors competition, Jordan Burdall also won the Herridge Cup and the Clark Shield for the best gross and net in the junior club championship.

Jordan, who now plays off scratch, was also named as the junior golfer of the year.

Sue, who has only been playing for three years, also won the Ladies medal winners trophy and the Dryden Salver.

Another recent arrival, James Ablett, who started playing a year ago, was also a multiple winner. He won the Rabbits trophy, The Colin Easson Cup for the best net score in the 19 to 28 club championship and the Hinch Cup for the best gross.

Neil Harris won the seniors golfer of the year trophy as well as the seniors doubles with Bob King.

Cathy Steele, who only took up the game seriously in April, won the Rosemary Thomas Cup, which is presented to the most improved lady golfer. Cathy also won the Ladies invitation and has dropped six shots off her handicap.

Fraser Denholm also had a large drop in handicap from 13 to six, Fraser won the Gents Anniversary trophy. Christine Edwards won the Ladies Trophy.

Senior golfer Peter Giblett was awarded the Stuart Dodd trophy for the most improved golfer of the year. Peter’s other prizes included the Stan Holden Trophy and the Veterans Cup.

County players Emma Tipping and Sophie Beardsall were big winners again this year. Emma won The Pat Holloway Trophy, a medal and the Hodgkinson Cup for the Ladies Knockout singles and was third in the Colin Easson competition.

Sophie was crowned Ladies Champion for the eighth year in succession and won the Waycot Bowl. She also won three medals and with partner Sally Bowker won the Greetham Cup for the Ladies doubles.

Alan Bennet and Christine Edwards won the Martins Mixed Foursomes early in the year.

Alan with Adam Clegg were also successful in the men’s Tudor Springs foursomes. Adam also took home a medal. Not to be outdone, Adam’s father Paul won the division one singles and was presented with the Rutland Shield. Bill Skinner won division two.

In the seniors singles, John Taylor won the Brian Hockey Trophy for division one, Peter Morris won division two and the Mike Churchill Trophy.

Gary and Steven Graham won the Stimson Trophy for family members.

Prizes were presented to winners of individual competitions including the Gill Christie Memorial Trophy, which was won by Beryl Crosland.

Trevor Smith won the Cunningham Cup for the best net score in the club championship as well as the Presidents Putter for winning the championship.

Ladies Vice Captain Sheila Douty won the Lady Landover trophy. Shaun Greetham won the Moore Stephens trophy in the mens competition and Angela wheeler won it for the Ladies. The Limestone trophy was presented to Andrew Queen.

Greetham Valley secretary Dennis Millington won the Bob Ford and Jackie Friend the Barbara Ford Trophy.

The Chris Southwell Memorial Salver was awarded to Graham Smith and James Cure won the Sturgess Volvo Trophy.

Jo Morris hasn’t been playing for very long but she was still good enough to win the Ladies Bunny Cup and to take the longest drive in the Colin Easson Motors competition.

Eve Mills won the Meadows World Travel Charity Trophy and Geoff Williams the Presidents charity Day Trophy.

In doubles competitions, Bev Dolman and partner Jackie Bayley won the Ladies Limestone trophy.

The Dickinson Mixed Trophy was won by junior captain Ryan Tarrant and Jackie Friend.

Leon Wych and Gary Ferrar were the winners of the pairs knockout and were presented with the Begy Trophy.

Captains Jim Wheeler and Eileen Pare presented £2,354 to this year’s captain’s charity, the Evergreen Care Trust.