Risi seals BSM victory at Rutland County

John Phipps takes over from Stewart Picton as Seniors Captain at Rutland County Golf Club
John Phipps takes over from Stewart Picton as Seniors Captain at Rutland County Golf Club
Have your say

This year’s winner of the BSM Trophy at Rutland County Golf Club is Pakka Risi after his second place finish in the final round.

The final leg of the annual Bogey Stableford Medal Trophy was held in excellent playing conditions that Deggie Palmer found this to his liking.

Palmer shot 73-6-67 to pip Risi (91-24-67) but Risi’s second place gave him 29 points, enough to win the 2012 title. Eric Cooper, playing off 7, shot a net 70 for third spot.

Second overall was Pete Siciliano, with 15th in the last leg, and Andy Vernon slipped up the blind-side with his fifth spot finish in the final leg giving him third place in the overall standings.

A delighted Risi, who partnered Jo Shepherd into the top lady’s place, will receive a 2-shot handicap reduction.

l A huge tussle in the first round of the Doubles Knockout saw Nathan Hines and Jordan Paylor defeat Gerry McIntyre and David Rippin on the 21st hole.

McIntyre had birdied the 17th and 18th to force extra holes but with Rippin missing a tiddler on the third extra hole, Paylor stepped up and nervelessly holed a slippery 4-footer for victory.

Suzanne Huxley continued with her winning ways, winning the Ladies November Medal on 86-18-68 ahead of Karen Palmer’s 93-23-70 and Jenny Cobb on 95-25-70.

l John Phipps has taken over as seniors captain at Rutland County from Stewart Picton.

The seniors section recorded two results for the Winter League KO competition this week with John Killin and David Wilson beating Ray Taylor and Bob Goddard 3&2, and John Downey and Geoff Osborne beating Mike Frankish and Dick Wray 3&2.

Twenty-three seniors took to the course for a format with “just one to count on the first six holes, two on the next six and all three to count on the final six” with players enjoying the unusual format.

The winning trio with a creditable 80 points were Alan Kydd, John Rudin and Vic Pheasant.

There also were some impressive scores for the 9-hole, three club challenge on the day of the annual meeting.

Results: Front 9 - 1st, Rob Elliott, 21 pts; 2nd Stewart Picton, 20 pts; 3rd Dave Wilson, 17 pts. Back 9 - 1st, Joe Smith, 25 pts; 2nd, Mike Reynolds, 20 pts; 3rd, Mike Glenister, 19pts c/b.