Rutland County Golf Club’s Anne Sargeson celebrates hole in one

Have your say

Rutland County’s Anne Sargeson cannot stop reliving her terrific tee shot on the 17th hole during the Senior’s Stableford competition after recording a hole in one.

A delighted Anne used a nine wood to ace the 129-yard par 3. Division 1 was won by Bob Goddard with 41 points just ahead of Gerry Webb on 40 points. Division 2 went to Mike Reynolds on 44 points, 5 ahead of John Phipps in second place.

Champions for the last two years, Keith Barrett and Frank Copsey have been sent crashing out of the Seniors Knockout on the first extra hole by Vic Pheasant and Peter Aitkens.

Despite scoring three twos and an eagle, Gerry McIntyre and Mark Durno also bowed out of the summer knockout losing to the deadly pairing of Craig Allan and Chris Palmer on the last hole.

Andy Vernon qualified for the Past Captain’s National Final at Frilford Heath scoring 34 points at Luffenham Heath to claim fourth spot in the qualifier.

Cliff and Heather Knapp were winners by two points in the Ladies nine-hole Supper Event.

Paul and Anne Milsom just pipped Maureen and Terry Loomes for second on countback with 21 points.

The inaugural staging of the Pip’s Putter Trophy was won by Stuart Chapman who scored 21 points over the nine-hole event despite just returning from a long lay-off.

The Seniors lost their away tie to Melton Mowbray by 5-3 despite winning three of the first four matches.

Stuart Picton and Ian Barron won 2 and 1, Terry Loomes and David Whitehead won 3 and 2, Ray and Syd Taylor (not related) lost 4 and 3, Tony Whiting and John Rudin won 1 up, Brian Hester and John Chatburn lost 2 down, Keith Barratt and David Lynas lost 6 and 4, Graham Cole and John Killin lost 5 and 4, Arthur Dethick and Maurice Arnold lost 3 and 2.

On a cold, wet miserable day Oliver Huxley and Pete Siciliano lit up the course to claim The Gavels with 44 points. Suzanne Huxley shouldered the burden and partnered Craig Allan into second on 42 points with Martyn Gatehouse and Phil Jordan taking third place on 41 points.