Swimming: Deepings club enjoys tournament in Holland

Share this article
Have your say

DEEPINGS Swimming Club once again took their annual trip across the water to compete in the Netherlands Fourteenth Invitational Tournament which takes place in the Pieter van den Hoogenband swimming stadium.

The swimmers had a very successful weekend achieving some excellent results in both their 50m and 25m pools.

Junior swimmers Thomas Spinley, Kallum Penman, William Shaw, Niamh Brown, Angelina Freeman, Emma Wilde, Charlotte Youdsand Ciara Shlackman were all in form.Their enthusiasm and determination to do well paid off as they all produced some superb times.

Thomas Spinley, eight, collected two awards for his swims in the 100m freestyle and 50m backstroke. He secured three club records, four personal bests and two county times.

Niamh Brown won the 100m backstroke, collected five other awards, set three personal bests and achieved three county qualifying times.

Angelina Freeman set five personal bests and five county qualifying times.

Ciara Shlackman secured a county time in the 50m Backstroke and set five PBs.

William Shaw, Emma Wilde, Charlotte Youds and Kallum Penman all set some excellent personal best times.

The senior squad of 18 swimmers as always gave 100 per cent commitment to each of their races.

Millie Catherall, Isabel Spinley, Danielle Shlackman, Bethany Wilde, Shelby Culff, Elisha Penman, Berri Harrison, Zoe Fisher, Georgia Brownsword, Bailie Harrison, Bethany Neal, Emma Watts, Kaleigh Adams, Patrick Brown, Jordan Bull, Thomas Neal, Alex Wray and George Shaw all produced some quality swims.

The seniors collected a total of 27 awards between them, won eight events, achieved one meet record, two club records and one county record, 117 long course PBs, 52 converted PBs, and set 37 county qualifying times.

The meet record went to Jordan Bull in the 100m breaststroke. Club records went to Alex Wray in the 50m freestyle and Jordan Bull in the 50m breaststroke. The county record went to Alex Wray in the 50m breaststroke.

Age group winners were Jordan Bull - 50m, 100m & 200m Breast, 100m Fly, 50m & 200m Back; Isabel Spinley - 200m Backstroke.

Awards were won by: Bailie Harrison - 50m & 100m Butterfly, 200m IM; Isabel Spinley - 100m Butterfly, 100m Backstroke, 400m Free; Zoe Fisher - 100m Butterfly, 100m & 200m Backstroke, 200m IM; Jordan Bull - 100m Backstroke, 50m Free; Shelby Culff - 200m Freestyle, 400m Free; Danielle Shlackman - 400m Free; Georgia Brownsword - 400m Free; Alex Wray - 200m IM, 100m Free.