Tae Kwon-do: Championship success for students

Share this article
Have your say

Students from Annabel Murcott Schools of Tae Kwon-Do are celebrating success in the north and south midlands championships

They came away with several medals at the south midlands championships in Kettering hosted by the chairman of the Tae Kwon-Do association of great Britain master David Oliver, eighth dan.

The following week they travelled to Derby to take on the north midlands championships hosted by TAGB area coordinator Master Brian Towndrow seventh dan and to add icing to the cake one of Annabel’s assistant instructors Debbie Parry, third dan came away with referee of the year.

Murcott said: “We have had a busy few weeks but as always the students trained hard focused on what was before them and gave it their all.

“It’s hard this time of the year for the younger ones with the summer holidays in front of them, but they still pulled it out the bag when needed. “I am extremely proud of Debbie for getting the referee award, they take a lot of knocks and criticism at competitions and yet still continue to travel the country most weekends to ensure competitions take place.

“Our club usually takes 20 plus referees and umpires to most competitions, so to get this award hopefully shows how professional and fair our guys are, so well done to all of them.”

After a short summer break the students have their eyes set on the Scottish Championships in September then Annabel has her hands full with yet another 20 plus students going for their black belts in October, so no rest yet.

Results: Derby (North Midlands); Michaela Francis (Yaxley) Bronze Sparring; Thomas Hall (Deeping) Silver Sparring; Nathan Deane (Deeping) Bronze Sparring; Kieran Fowler (Billingborough) Bronze Sparring – Bronze Patterns; Megan Hartfil-Algood (Billingborough) Bronze Patterns; Sophie Fowler (Billingborough) Bronze Sparring; Gemma Abbott (Thurlby) Silver Sparring; Erin Helliwell (Thurlby) Silver Sparring – Silver Patterns; Luke Bloodworth (Folkingham) – Silver Sparring – Silver Patterns; Ruth Bloodworth (Folkingham) Bronze Sparring; Nathan Sherwin (Bourne) Bronze Sparring; Poppy Daniels (Bourne) Silver Patterns; Harry Daniels (Bourne) – Silver Sparring.

Kettering (Midlands); Gemma Abbott (Thurlby) Gold Sparring; Caitlin Roche (Bourne) Silver Sparring; Michaela Francis (Yaxley) Bronze Sparring; Katie Smith (Thurlby) Bronze Sparring; Luke Crane (Bourne) Silver Team Sparring; Joseph Main (Bourne) Silver Team Sparring; Harry Daniels (Bourne) Bronze Sparring