Title within grasp after Rutland seal promotion

Share this article
Have your say

Rutland Men’s 1st 5 St Ives 2nd 1

RUTLAND Men’s 1st team have secured promotion with three games remaining.

They are still not technically champions of the East League’s 3NW Division but are unlikely to be toppled from top spot as they have an outstanding goal difference and require just one point from three games to claim the title.

But it was a stuttering start on Saturday from Rutland who squandered chance after chance andwent behind a minute before half time to go into the break 1-0 down.

A small tactical change in the second half freed the Rutland forwards, enabling them to exploit space and attack at a better pace. This resulted in Ollie Browne levelling the score, and man-of-the-match Jordan Allen came in from the left to put Rutland ahead soon after.

Rutland’s pressure began to tell and Rutland added a further goal from Allen and a drag flick from Scott Perry.

Perry then added a further goal after a superb solo run, beating one player after another before lifting the ball into the net to seal a comfortable 5-1 win.

Rutland: Dean Armstrong; Ollie Evans; Johnny Ashwin, James Grant, Harry Robertson; Joran Allen, Scott Perry, B Harford, Marcus Parsons, Ollie Browne, James Young, Peter Comben.

l RUTLAND Men’s 2nds extended their winning streak to six games by beating bottom side March 2nds 7-4 .

Despite the win, this was one of Rutland’s worst performances of the season and they will need to improve dramatically when they face second-placed Cambridge Nomads this weekend.

The first half was a topsy-turvy affair with Rutland conceding the lead three times before eventually scoring a 4th just before half time to ensure they had the lead at the turn around.

The seconds never played at their best and although the second half performance was an improvement, it was still way below what they are capable of.

Jak Garner and James Jarvis scored twice with Chris Meadows, Rich Jennings and Warren Ginn also on the scoresheet.

Rutland 2nds: Ben Chew, Tim Eaton, Ben Jennings, James Meadows, John Brayshaw, Paul Matthews, Rich Jennings, Andy Bethwaite, Chris Meadows, James Jarvis, Jak Garner, Warren Ginn.